We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

When traveling to smaller communities, it can often be challenging to find nice accommodations where options are limited. I was pleasantly surprised that Candlewood Suites has consistently provided me with spacious, clean and modern facilities which meet my expectations. I have always stayed here when returning to town. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbthomas00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    22
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
21
7
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice room with good location. Good price. Full kitchen was nice. One thing to be aware of: The kitchen contains a full size refrigerator with an ice maker inside the freezer. The ice falling into the empty bin during the night woke me up a few times. If you are a light sleeper you may want to lift up the little bar in the icemaker in order to turn off the production of ice during the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Friendly staff, fairly new facility. Easily accessible to the highway and dining options . The rooms were very clean and my bed slept great! Great sheets! I didn't want to get out of bed. Business Center computer was having issues so I couldn't do what I needed to do, but overall this is a great place esp. if you're on a budget. As an IHG Rewards member, this was my first stay at a Candlewood and they won me over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyKev67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place because of great staff and bed was wonderful. Shower, excellent! They also provided a discount at a local restaurant "rib crib" for our convenience. I rented 3 rooms AND ALL WHO TRAVELED WITH ME ENJOYED THE STAY.

Room Tip: King suite for single is a fine choice of privacy and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NdnOutlaw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lower price with FULL-SIZE fridge and mini-kitchen! Brand new, quiet, great beds, super clean. Why pay for a smelly/chlorine swimming pool & spa (which we find is often out of order or indoors w/loud noise, hot, & humid) that you don't use anyway? Same goes for the BIG caloric breakfast . . . There's not one, just free fresh fruit & coffee 24/7, plus an in-house grocery with good selection of food, snacks & drinks at reasonable prices. Staff we encountered had great sense of pride, were well-trained, customer oriented, and genuinely seemed to care-- which is expected at pricier resorts, but not usually found at this price point. The only drawback we found (and we are picky, picky, picky) is that the rooms are not equipped with a folding luggage stand. For the price, we can live without it. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLawyer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were traveling though and stopped at this hotel for the night. Our room was a one bedroom with a comfortable king bed and then for the kids there was a sleeper and a rollaway. All the beds were very comfortable, the room was spotless like nobody had ever stayed in it before. Everything seemed new and clean, and the room smelled fresh when we walked in. There is a mini-kitchen in the room also. The employees were friendly and helpful, and gave us a coupon for a nearby restaurant.

The power saving a/c switches off when you leave the room and then takes a long time to cool the room when you get back. Also, there is no swimming pool or breakfast, but that is understandable since this hotel is more for people staying there for an extended period of time for work, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This may have been the best I have ever slept in a hotel. The bed was so comfortable, the room spotlessly clean and quiet. We were traveling through and this was a restful stop. This was my first Candlewood Suites hotel and I am not sure how consistent the brand is, but I will be trying others. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarSandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McAlester hotels
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites McAlester
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAlester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester
2.4 mi away
Happy Days Hotel
Happy Days Hotel
#6 of 16 in McAlester
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites McAlester
Comfort Suites McAlester
#10 of 16 in McAlester
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Mcalester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Property: Candlewood Suites Mcalester
Address: 425 S George Nigh Expy, McAlester, OK 74501-6092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Mcalester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Candlewood Suites McAlester is the only extended stay, all suites hotel in McAlester, Oklahoma. The 89 suite, 4 story hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 69. If McAlester is your destination, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping and attractions. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy premium Direct TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat screen television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24-hours a day. McAlester, OK has many attractions just minutes away. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the McAlester area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Candlewood Suites Mcalester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing