We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good catfish family style”

McGehee's Catfish Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Marietta
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good catfish family style”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

McGehee's is a neat out of the way restaurant for some good family style catfish. For one price you get all you can eat catfish, homestyle fries, cole slaw, hush puppies and pickled green tomatoes. Service is quick and food is good. They also offer a menu to order from, which I have never done - I always get the fried all you can catfish. The all you can eat allows fried, cajun or grilled. Please note if you order the all you can eat catfish, only order what you think you can eat they can always bring you more if you are still hungry. You will not be able to take it with you - so don't ask.

This time the hush puppies were a bit dry, still good but not as moist as usual.

The atmosphere is wonderful - you can see the cattle and the river from the restaurant and the grounds are beautiful.

When I say out of the way, I really mean it. Exit off I35 at exit 15 (Ryan/Marietta) and turn towards the Dollar Tree Distribution Center (towards Ryan, away from downtown Marietta)-keep driving and on the left about a mile down you will see the McGehee's sign, turn and you will keep going until you have to turn left or right. There you will see another sign "Restaurant --->" which is Allen Rd. Finally you will see one last sign about 1/3 a mile up then you will see the driveway.

It is worth the trip down the out of the way country road. Enjoy your visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasTravels107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Cole Slaw/Good Fish”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The place serves the best cole slaw in the United States!! We have been to all the states, and this slaw is tops!! The other food is good, but it is all served buffet style. We get one order to go with extra slaw and that is plently for us.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie and Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley View, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“O.K. but Comparetivly Overpriced.”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Been going there for many years and it's definately not as good as it once was. They also need to reopen their runway for planes.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill and Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent - worth the drive from Fort Worth”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We decided to drive the 1-1/2 hours to McGehees. Sure am glad we did. The catfish was excellent and the pickled green tomatoes and hushpuppies were wonderful. High marks for the cole slaw. The price was a very good value. Service was also good but not overbearing. Liked the view.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great catfish at a decent price!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

14.99 for all u can eat catfish platter (they give you 3 fillets at a time, per person). Served with a ton o fries (skin on which I like), cut up green tomatoes (loved em!), hush puppies (small, but very good), and Cole slaw (I hate Cole slaw, but my cousin said it was very good). Can't wait to go back!
The service was lacking a bit, but our waitress seemed to not have a lot of experience. No big deal.
I used to fly in to this place in the 90's. This is first time back (drove for 1st time). Unfortunately, the runway was closed about five years ago.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcsflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGehee's Catfish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McGehee's Catfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing