We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Plains Explained

It costs $10.00 to get in, but worth it. From dinosaurs to indians to settlers to conquering the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jenny Lee R
,
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Interesting!

We stopped to see all the prairie dogs in the park and decided to peek in at the museum. What a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
MatthewS5
,
Chicago, Illinois
via mobile
Read all 236 reviews
  
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
134
75
22
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
75
22
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trading post hands on activities general store outdoor exhibits native americans prairie dogs all ages great for kids tornado exhibit military discount couple of hours wichita falls interesting displays an adult bison gift shop entry fee
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 236 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018

I was at Fort Sill for my son's graduation from boot camp. I had a few extra hours to explore the area and went there. It was very educational and enjoyable. Kids would love it! Alot of hands on activities.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jemads93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart M, IT_Admin at Museum of the Great Plains, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

The graduations send a lot of traffic our way, which is great. Glad you made it here, too. Thanks for posting a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Great hands on museum that we visited with our newly graduated soldier. Most of the exhibits are hands on. Everything is and interesting and fun. If you’re looking for a walk through museum, then this is not for you. I recommend rolling up your sleeves, letting your inner child out, and participating in everything offered. The Tornado exhibit is awesome, the calf roping and the life size lite brite were our favorites. This may sound like it’s a children’s museum, but it really is for everyone of all ages. They have outdoor exhibits as well, which were less interesting, but the resident guide in the outdoor exhibit was very knowledgeable about the history and would talk for hours if you had the time. I would suggest to anyone that they make the effort to visit the gentleman to at least hear some of the history of why the area came to be.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank johnnM8085NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGP_73507, IT_Admin at Museum of the Great Plains, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Great review! "Let your inner child out" and "for everyone of all ages" are spot-on! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

What a great place. The museum is full of hands on educational activities. I love using museums to teach my children alone with our homeschool programs. We will definitely be back. We ran out of time to explore the full place but look forward to returning soon. I will definitely be pass this on to other homeschooled families. Oklahoma is rush with history and they did a great job show it. A+ and the Prairie dogs in the park outs are so cute to watch before and after the visit to the museum.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Christi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGP_73507, IT_Admin at Museum of the Great Plains, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thanks! We're glad you came, and glad you plan to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Right beside the Comanche museum was another museum called the Museum of the Great Plains. I paid $10 as an entry fee. The lady at the gift shop and entrance was super nice and new a lot of history. It’s more of a hands-on type museum where the exhibits begged to be touched!!!!! A very tactile experience. They have a great interactive display of the Wichita Falls tornado of 1979, a real-life experience. There were lots of old machines, cars, tractors, fire trucks and also an area where there were active moving dinosaurs!!!!!! The place was super nice and clean and I loved it. I also bought a beautiful “Desert Rose” This Barite compound is Oklahoma’s state rock!!!! Give this place a try!!!! One of Lawton’s best!!!!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGP_73507, IT_Admin at Museum of the Great Plains, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you, Gary!!!! We are a hands-on, tactile museum. The "Red Dirt Dinos " exhibit, in our Oklahoma Museum Network Gallery, just started, and runs through March 2019. Thanks for the good review!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

This museum has both indoor exhibits and outdoor exhibits. Indoor you will find information regarding the high plains area of the USA. There was a chuck wagon from the cattle drives, a fire engine, and an oil delivery wagon. There was a large mammoth bone and multiple arrowheads. The tornado experience was crazy cool. Outside there was a replica log fort and a very large steam powered locomotive.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank DDay1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGP_73507, IT_Admin at Museum of the Great Plains, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thanks for the review! Glad you had a great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews