We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway ”

Museum of the Great Plains
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Lawton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

What a great place. The museum is full of hands on educational activities. I love using museums to teach my children alone with our homeschool programs. We will definitely be back. We ran out of time to explore the full place but look forward to returning soon. I will definitely be pass this on to other homeschooled families. Oklahoma is rush with history and they did a great job show it. A+ and the Prairie dogs in the park outs are so cute to watch before and after the visit to the museum.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Christi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGP_73507, IT_Admin at Museum of the Great Plains, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thanks! We're glad you came, and glad you plan to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"trading post"
in 15 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 12 reviews
"general store"
in 9 reviews
"outdoor exhibits"
in 9 reviews
"native americans"
in 10 reviews
"re enactors"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 9 reviews
"prairie dogs"
in 11 reviews
"military discount"
in 4 reviews
"tornado simulator"
in 4 reviews
"great for kids"
in 6 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 7 reviews
"few hours"
in 4 reviews
"wichita falls"
in 3 reviews
"interesting displays"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 10 reviews
"bison"
in 6 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2018

Right beside the Comanche museum was another museum called the Museum of the Great Plains. I paid $10 as an entry fee. The lady at the gift shop and entrance was super nice and new a lot of history. It’s more of a hands-on type museum where the exhibits begged to be touched!!!!! A very tactile experience. They have a great interactive display of the Wichita Falls tornado of 1979, a real-life experience. There were lots of old machines, cars, tractors, fire trucks and also an area where there were active moving dinosaurs!!!!!! The place was super nice and clean and I loved it. I also bought a beautiful “Desert Rose” This Barite compound is Oklahoma’s state rock!!!! Give this place a try!!!! One of Lawton’s best!!!!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGP_73507, IT_Admin at Museum of the Great Plains, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you, Gary!!!! We are a hands-on, tactile museum. The "Red Dirt Dinos " exhibit, in our Oklahoma Museum Network Gallery, just started, and runs through March 2019. Thanks for the good review!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

This museum has both indoor exhibits and outdoor exhibits. Indoor you will find information regarding the high plains area of the USA. There was a chuck wagon from the cattle drives, a fire engine, and an oil delivery wagon. There was a large mammoth bone and multiple arrowheads. The tornado experience was crazy cool. Outside there was a replica log fort and a very large steam powered locomotive.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank DDay1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGP_73507, IT_Admin at Museum of the Great Plains, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thanks for the review! Glad you had a great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Lots to see..
Lots to do..
Very hands on for the young ones..
My 11 year old daughter loved it..
The tornado film in the storm shelter is powerful account of the 79' storms that hit the area.
Lots of exhibits that teach a lot of history.
Native American items very cool..
Worth the time..
Worth the price..
Set aside a couple of hours and check it out..
Well done!!

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGP_73507, IT_Admin at Museum of the Great Plains, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

A lot of information in a short review. Maybe you can do marketing for us! Thanks for observing that we program for a range of ages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Tells some key features of the early interaction of the settlers, military and the indigenous Indian people. Shockingly I found out that the reason for buffalo slaughtering was because the Indians depended upon them for food and clothing. A nice locomotive engine to see, and a replica of a fort built from actual written plans and staffed with a couple guys who are experts in plains equipment and history.
I tried to add pics but the feature failed

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank isawuonmontel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGP_73507, IT_Admin at Museum of the Great Plains, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Yep, we close at 5:00, but we're open 7 days a week, 362 days a year (not that it helped you, sounds like). Thanks for posting a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum of the Great Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing