We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Fall Colors”

Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Heavener
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 54-mile scenic highway cutting through the breathtaking Ouachita Mountains.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Fall Colors”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We drove the Talimena Scenic Highway on Saturday, spent the night in Mena and drove back to Oklahoma on Sunday. The colors were absolutely beautiful. It was partly cloudy but when the sun was shining the mountain tops were glowing in reds and gold color. There are several places along the 54-mile drive where you can stop and hike the trails and also lots of turnouts to pull off the highway for picture taking.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    36
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Talimena State Park and Scenic Byway”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Talimena State Park which is right next to the entrance to the Scenic Byway on the Oklahoma side. You can look up the Talimena State Park details at travelok.com It is a smaller park, but the facilities are very nice and well kept. The park ranger and his wife were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend staying there. We tent camp. The bathrooms are heated, hot showers, and clean. The park was busy this past weekend, but that was expected since it was Veteran's day. The scenic byway was very nice. If you like taking slow drives and pulling over to get out and take photos, this is a great ride. We didn't take the complete drive. We stayed on the Oklahoma side and turned around at US-259 to head to Robbers Cave State Park near Wilberton, Ok. Make sure you have gas, food, and drinks with you on the byway. There are no stores on it. Pack a picnic.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
402 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Beautiful fall foliage”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I drove the entire 55 miles of the Talimena National Scenic Byway during the peak of the fall foliage change. The colors were gorgeous. We stopped at every turn out. We got out and walked around at most turn outs. There is no gas along the byway and only vault toilets. The lodge at Queen Wilhelmina State Park was closed for remodeling but we enjoyed a great view at the park. The town of Mena is on the east end of the byway (in Arkansas). They have a small free train depot museum, city park and antique stores. The byway is certainly worth a trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arapaho
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Beautiful any time”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our second time riding the scenic drive, first time in the summer and again this fall. We will ride it again sometime. Be sure to stop at the Queen Wilhelmina Lodge on the east end of the drive in Arkansas. It will be opened again sometime in 2014, a really nice place to stay.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning fall colors”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Me and my mom came up to Talimena to see some fall colors and we were not disappointed. The weather was cool but nice and sunny. We picked a perfect weekend to come up here. Overall this is one of the most beautiful drives I have ever been on anywhere!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talimena Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Talimena Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing