We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boomarang Diner

Boomarang Diner
Ranked #10 of 63 Restaurants in Guthrie
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in before going to the Guthrie Festival. I had an iced trea, grilled chicken sandwich and tots. Decent food but it was a little pricey for diner fare.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good little diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Boomarang is in the heart of little Guthrie.
Stopped in for a hamburger and was pleasantly surprised. Got a bacon burger. It was cooked perfectly and was quite tasty.
If you end up in Guthrie, give it a try

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sirsmokeyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, OK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

When we were in Guthrie visiting my Mom, she wanted us to try the new place in town. We've been to other Boom-a-rangs, but it had been awhile. This one impressed, because it was obvious that the staff worked very hard to make it an enjoyable meal. The wait staff was attentive but not pushy, and the manager was in evidence, keeping things moving. He made a point of greeting each customer. The restaurant is small and there's not much room to wait. I had a Frito chili pie, and it was outstanding; my husband had one their specialty burgers and said it was one of the best he'd had. One thing that surprised me is that sandwiches are served without sides. We paid extra for fries, but they were very good. The movie memorabilia on the wall made for good discussion, and our waitress provided us with a "cheat sheet," since we couldn't figure out the name of one actress. Will probably go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Catfish Dinner on Friday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

It was suggested to me to go eat the all u can eat catfish dinner one Friday, it was very good and will eat catfish there again soon. I'm thinking right now that I may go over there and try breakfast!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank farmerobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Greatest DINER Food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We liked this place so much, we ate there twice in one day! Our grand road trip included a stop to search for antiques in Guthrie, Oklahoma, and we arrived ready for lunch. We didn't want a long sit-down meal (Roma's), we drove by Katie's Diner and didn't like the looks from the outside, and while walking down the street, we happened upon Boomarang's, and went in.

WE were served drinks promptly, and ordered the fried chicken, fish, and Reuben sandwiches. We also had fries, beans, corn bread, and their signature "pickle-o's". WOW!!! It was all fresh, "actually" cooked (no frozen fish or chicken patty here!), served quickly, and most of all "DELICIOUS".

We enjoyed lunch so much that after shopping for antiques (great place for THAT, BTW), and before heading back onto the road, we returned for dinner. This time two of us had the fried chicken sandwich, with the third having the 1/4 pound burger, with added sautéed onions, and the second time was as good as the first.

Friendly staff, good food fast, this would be a regular meal stop for us any time we were traveling in this area. The Best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seabreeze48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boomarang Diner also viewed

 

Been to Boomarang Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing