We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Guthrie
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Admitedly, this is the first time I have stayed in a Sleep Inn. We decided to book the room after being unable to find a decent place in Stillwater (all the rooms in Stillwater were taken because it was the opening weekend of sorority rush week). It was okay, but I was surprized by how small the room was and the fact that the bathroom consisted of a sink open to the room with a stall shower and toilet separated from the room with a sliding pocket door. Also disappointing was that there wasn't any lighting at the head of the beds, and the airconditioner loudly turned on and off through the night. It was okay. I would stay there again if I couldn't find something better.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHonestScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
24
12
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I previously rated this hotel as a 5 star. Recently the motel underwent an ownership change and a management change. It now is not nearly the hotel that it was just 6 months earlier. It isn't near as clean, the staff is all new and doesn't know the area, and is little help when you ask about local restaurants, the new manager just hangs out in the office, not friendly to the guests like the former manager. I come to Guthrie about 4 or 5 times a year on business and next time I'll be at another property. Just another proof that the staff can make or break a property. They will really miss Kathy and miss the Gold and Platinum status that they have had in the past.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Myoldcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in May and enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok but like most hotels was nothing special. Property was well maintained and beautiful. Like a previous reviewer I also smelled cigarette smoke in the hallways. We were on the third floor so someone was smoking on our floor. Fortunately the smoke smell did not come into our room. All in all a nice place to stay in Guthrie. The sink area could be larger as the counter space around the sink is very small. The shower was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToledoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Front desk staff was always very helpful and the breakfast hostess was on the ball and friendly. My biggest complaint is that the floor we were on (2nd) REEKED of cigarette smoke...from the time we checked in, until the time we left. Even though all of the rooms were non-smoking. Also, as other reviewers have stated, the doors were very loud and the bathrooms, which really aren't "rooms" (small area with pocket door) could have used a little more space for showering/toilet use. One more thing...no lamps in the rooms. All light is with canned lights in the ceiling, which would have been okay, except they were all stocked with those flourescent blaring curly bulbs. Zero relaxing lighting here.

Room Tip: Rooms on backside of building have a nice view of Oklahoma plains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zandemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YANKTON
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We used to overnight in Oklahoma City on our way to south Texas. No more, since we discovered this hotel. Clean, comfortable, well furnished and decorated, and complete with a complementary hot breakfast. The only negative is that the room doors and thick and heavy, and they are equipped with a strong closing device. If an early departing traveler just lets go the door on his or her way out it closes with a loud thud may awaken light sleepers (like my wife).

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel overlooks a pleasant pond and is the furthest from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAKOTATRAVELER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepville, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear "Dakotatraveler",

My team and I appreciate your kind words! Historic Guthrie is a great place to stop and we are pleased to be your hotel of choice!

I apologize for your early morning wake up from our room doors closing. We have made adjustments to a number of doors hoping this will prevent this type of noise in the future.

Thanks so much again and we look forward to your next stay!

Best regards,

Kathy Loya, CHA
General Manager
Sleep Inn & Suites, Guthrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

guthrie ok  A nice over night stay nothing more and nothing less. A fair price for a fair sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augustleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We spent Thursday night at the Sleep Inn at Guthrie. I made our reservation over the phone, and the lady working the desk quoted a price lower than what was listed online. Upon our arrival, check-in was quick and efficient.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. Our room was perfect. Although the room was small (as are any of the Sleep Inns I have visited), it was quite efficient. The bed was excellent, and there was plenty of hot water.

Note that these rooms do not have a tub - it is shower only. If I had a complaint, it would be that the little room housing the shower and toilet needed a shelf to put your bathing items on and a hook on which to hang your robe/clothes.

After reading the suggestion by a previous reviewer, I requested a room on the back side of the building, and we did not hear any road noise.

The only noise we heard was from room doors slamming. Because of this we tried to close our door quietly, but found it was impossible. Something about these doors causes them to close loudly, no matter how hard you try to keep it quiet.

The breakfast was the usual hotel breakfast fare, and the hostess was very friendly and helpful.

We were impressed with this facility and if the need ever arises to stay in Guthrie, this is the place we will choose.

Room Tip: If highway noise bothers you, be sure to ask for a room on the "back side" of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ranchmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guthrie
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Guthrie
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Guthrie
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Guthrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Guthrie-North Edmond
1.6 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#5 of 7 in Guthrie
17 reviews
16.1 mi away
Best Western Edmond Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 414 Heather Rd, Guthrie, OK 73044-3810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Guthrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Guthrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Guthrie
Sleep Inn Guthrie
Guthrie Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing