We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little get away!”
Review of The Stone Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guthrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stone Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Guthrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland, ok
1 review
“Fun little get away!”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We really enjoyed the mystery dinner. We stayed in the cottages across from the house and they were nice as well as the inn! I loved the historic decor, and the fact that we dressed to fit the era of the mystery. It was a unique and fun escape from reality even if it was for just a night!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimej75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    63
    22
    19
    16
See reviews for
31
166
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
okc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This was a very unique and very fun night out. The owner was so much fun and did such a good job orgnaizing the night. it was full of laughs ! The food was great. Atmosphere was perfect and fitting for a murder mystery. I will definitely go back !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwestp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawnee
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I decided to take my wife to a mystery/dinner to celebrate our 11th wedding anniversary. Neither of us had ever attended an event like this and didn't have a clue what to expect and that created the mood for the evening.

The Inn was a perfect setting for a murder mystery. The fact that every person in attendance was dressed and in character made it so realistic. The meal we were served was delicious. Our hostess was fantastic and offered satirical, comedy relief.

This was definitely an experience I will not soon forget and am looking forward to attending a different mystery in the near future. Stone Lion Inn murder mystery is like bringing a piece of Hollywood to the heartland. It made my anniversary evening one to die for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawneeanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

First - the food was excellent. Dinner and breakfast were artfully prepared and delicious. Second - the entertainment (murder mystery) was thought provoking and fun. Third - the room accomodations were nice. Very traditional. Would go again. Worth the money for a nice Friday night/Saturday morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was my first time to attend a murder mystery dinner. My husband and I went with two other couples and we had a blast! It was fun to dress up and act out our characters. The food was good and each room was uniquely decorated. We stayed in The Parlor. The room was average sized and there was only one plug in behind the bed on the floor. We will definately plan another trip to The Stone Lion Inn in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KendraS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2010

My husband and I just went to our second murder mystery dinner at the Stone Lion Inn. Both times, we had a blast, and we'll definitely go back again. With a variety of murder mysteries, you can count on a unique experience each time.

We went with friends each time we went, and going with another couple or a small group just adds to the fun. The first time, we stayed in the "Caretaker's Cottage," with our friends on the adjoining side of the cottage. This time, we stayed in the Bordello suite, which had a huge sitting room/porch and a super-comfy bed.

Rebecca is a terrific hostess at both the mystery dinner and at breakfast as she tells the haunted history of the Stone Lion Inn. We only had one "ghostly experience"--something fell off our bedside table during the night. I thought my husband knocked it off, but he says that he didn't. The next morning, there was nothing on the floor by the table. Hmmm...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niccif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We had such a great time, the murder mystrey was lots of fun, the rooms were great and dinner was excellent. Would go back again. The best Birthday present a husband could give.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okieconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guthrie
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Guthrie
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Guthrie
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Guthrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Guthrie-North Edmond
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#5 of 7 in Guthrie
17 reviews
15.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Edmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Lion Inn

Property: The Stone Lion Inn
Address: 1016 W Warner Ave, Guthrie, OK 73044-2730
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Guthrie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Guthrie
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1907 stately Victorian Mansion, located in historic Guthrie, has been lovingly restored to preserve the authenticity and retain its original charm and ambiance. Stone Lion Inn bed and breakfast features a downstairs parlor, oak paneled dining room and leaded glass bookshelves in our library, as well as six guest room suites with elegant interiors including antique furnishings, sitting rooms, and private baths with claw-foot tubs for two.At the Stone Lion Inn, we are known for our Murder Mystery Weekends. Every Friday and Saturday night, up to 40 guests participate as characters in our famous murder mystery complete with a 7 course dinner. The event lasts for four hours as our guests interact with each other to solve the hilariously convoluted plot. One of them will be a murderer, and one of them will be murdered! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stone Lion Hotel Guthrie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing