We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not happy this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewyck Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlewyck Cove Resort
Save
You added Candlewyck Cove Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not happy this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I've gone to Candlewyck off and on since 2004. When I first started, it felt like a family run business. It's now an operation with many more employees so it's less personable. My room kitchen and bathroom floors were dirty. They needed swept and mopped. The baseboards were filthy. The prices have exploded. The large house used to be $2,000 for a week. It's now $3,200. We could get a pontoon boat for $800 and keep it that whole week. It's now $450 for 8 hours. They had a bonfire while we were there but they spent almost an hour trying to light it and it only lasted for about 30 min. I still love the lake and the cove it's in. I highly recommend the large houses and to go with a group but take your own boat. If you don't mind dirty floors, no biggie. If you do, take shoes to wear the whole time. Also, when we rented the boat for 4 hours, you don't truly get 4 hours. They spent 30 min of our boating time getting the equipment and reviewing the rules during that time and then charged us almost $300 for 4 hours. I didn't like that. Would I go back? Maybe. They are family friendly - they have a pool, swing set, fire pit, volleyball, tether ball, etc. They have deck hands that will drive you to the dock. They have a continental breakfast on the weekends. The waffles and fruit are yummy. I like Grove, OK where it's located.

Room Tip: The large houses are awesome. Very pricey though but fun with a large group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenDan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    37
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
122
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We used a Groupon and stayed in Hotel room #2. The room was bigger than normal, but the bathroom was dated and the floor could use a good cleaning around the edges. The pool was closed due to children using large bottles of bubbles in the pool over Memorial Day. And with it being very hot and no beach access to the water, there really was not much to do. We did rent a pontoon boat and that was great. The boat was brand new, instructions were great and the young gentleman that checked us out and back in was really helpful and friendly. The staff in the office was also very friendly and they were very apologetic about the pool. We actually checked out a night early rather than sit in our room for another evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewelz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is the third time my family has stayed there since last year and the service is still excellent.

The resort is under new management but this hasn't stopped them from giving GREAT CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. They continue to help their guests with any & every need including launching and loading your boats.

i recommend this location to any family that likes a quick get away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crobb419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great time. Everyone was very accommodating the house and the town houses worked out perfect. They were like new. The water was close and were were able to rent a pontoon boat there on the same property. We were only a few min from town for groceries ect.. I wish I could have stayed longer. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammieT03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The resort is very well maintained. The grounds are well kept and very nicely landscaped - pool is a little small - boat rental went smoothly although boats were not well maintained. Very clean - good location - staff was very helpful and friendly - loved the privacy of the long suites with private hot tubs - a little pricey but was the holiday weekend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vols1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

May 16, 17 & 18, 2014
What a pleasant delight to stay in such a clean, family friendly community! We loved it and definitely plan to come again.
Our friends were very impressed and we treated them to a weekend away to get away from all the stress - we accomplished that.
We cooked breakfast in and them took off to explore the antique shops for the day. Then enjoyed dinner at American grill. Repeated the next day and had a quiet evening in our cabin with dessert and cards. What fun we had.

Room Tip: Townhouses are so quiet. we could not even hear the baby next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very clean and comfortable resort. Staff is very friendly and helpful! Family friendly resort with lots to do. Will definately stay here again!!! Only approximately 3 miles into town or to golf but feels like you are far away from the busy life.

Room Tip: I stayed in the hotel room #3 - worked great for me. Easy access to the lake or the office. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grove
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN TimberRidge Inn
1.8 mi away
WorldMark Grand Lake
WorldMark Grand Lake
#1 of 1 in Afton
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
20.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Vinita
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami
22.1 mi away
Buffalo Run Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewyck Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewyck Cove Resort

Property: Candlewyck Cove Resort
Address: 59800 E 307 Ln, Grove, OK 74344-7975
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Grove
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing