We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wild caving at Alabaster Caverns State Park is pretty wild” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alabaster Caverns State Park

Alabaster Caverns State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Freedom
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wild caving at Alabaster Caverns State Park is pretty wild”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This review is just for the wild caving at Alabaster Caverns. Some rules for wild caving: register at the office. at least 3 people, each person to have hard hat, long sleeves, water, 3 light sources. (There may be other rules.) The office will give you maps of the caves. Plan on an adventure. You'll get VERY dirty. (see pictures!) We did 2 caves on day 1 and 2 other caves on day 2. I think there are 5 that you can go through. There were places that were pretty tight for me to get through. I'm 5'9" and 175 lbs. There is some physical exertion to climb up some of the areas. We has a blast! It is a challenging trip through some areas. You'll find some fairly large rooms and unique rock formations. There are lots of areas that are single file; you can't pass by another person. If you think you may get claustrophobic, be the last one in your group; you know you can always go back the way you came. Or, you may want to skip this trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank denner_n_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    10
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice cave if you're in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

On a tour of Northwest Oklahoma one choice was the Alabaster Caverns. We arrived just in time (15 min early) for the noon tour. We were the only ones to go at this time but there were Boy Scouts scheduled while we waited. Nice camping area and picnic area. I did think the $10 pp was a little high for an adult. The cave was really cool and our guide was well learned about the cave.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GarynPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Bow, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I have read comments about rude staff, and similar encounters of our problem. For, a couple weeks ago when traveling through the area: We walked in the door at 9:00, we were greeted and I responded etc, and said we would like to take the 9:00 tour of the cave. She then turned around looked at the clock, 9:01:30, and responded that we were too late and would have to wait for the 10:00. I then said, "2 minutes, seriously?" She looked in the office, looked back and just grinned.... I then referred to reading about others making the same comments, and not being impressed. We have toured caves all over the country, and never seen this rude of help. Did I mention we were the ONLY ones in the parking lot and building. Most of the tours we have gone on have been privately owned, which makes me wonder if Oklahoma knows they have such lazy state employees!!!! We did not stay, for I am not giving them my money!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern shore of Md.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Visitors Center Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Because of my husband's heart condition we did not go into the caves but the welcome center gave us a grand tour explaining
wildlife and what was in the caves.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mariemhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We drove to this cave from our visit to little Sahara it was a long drive and in the middle of no where. The wild life was neat and the cave was just ok ,not sure we would have made the drive if we knew their wasn't much to it , The staff were very nice and the history of it all was interesting . Our tour guide was really off her rocker with some of the things she said which made it very pleasurable for my husband and I . Overall I would just rte it as ok and only suggest if you passing through or just bored of the dunes .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alabaster Caverns State Park also viewed

Been to Alabaster Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing