We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Juice was better than experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Elk City
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Elk City
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Juice was better than experience.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very difficult to find- should've been a sign. The address on the website took me into the middle of NOWHERE. Finally called for directions (15 miles from where 3 GPS programs took me). The ONLY hotel entrance is an unmarked driveway directly off the highway offramp. So I missed it, turned right at the light which turned out to be an onramp to the interstate... When I finally got myself turned around, and into the parking lot, I notice a few men out at the tailgate of their truck GRILLING on a little grill... like they are tailgating at a football game.

I walk through the men, who are taking up the entire sidewalk, and slow to let me pass, come into the building, and I see a nice hotel desk, and politely ring the bell for someone to come help me. I wait a full two minutes, and politely ring the bell again. I wait an additional 3 minutes, a couple comes in behind me to check in, and I ring the bell again. I wait an additional 2 minutes and the girl comes around the corner like I had woken her from her nap (This was between 7:34 and 7:41pm local time). The pool was closed for repair (would have been nice to know earlier...). There is nothing around, which made it very difficult to find the ONE place that would deliver (I was in a big truck- not suitable for driving around town)- and the restaurant in the parking lot was closed.

I will say they had a GREAT hot breakfast. I was VERY impressed with that. The Orange Juice was pulpy and REAL! I might be willing to return just for that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    86
    24
    14
    12
See reviews for
74
90
20
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We did have a good sleep here. It is a new facility and still has some rough spots---a slippery shower floor without a grab bar, no hooks for towels in our bathroom and a front desk clerk that was sneezing and taking meds as we checked out. However, we did not pick up her ailment so we rate the whole experience as average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a new (approximately 7 months old) property located at the East entrance to Elk City, Oklahoma. My room was handicap accessible with high ceilings and a walk in shower. The breakfast area was well laid out, spacious, and offered a nice variety of warm and cold breakfast items. Since my room was directly adjacent to the breakfast kitchen area, the smells of cooking waffles was somewhat strong and the kitchen prep area could benefit from some improved ventilation. Coming from the East, you must loop around the first intersection you come to in order to reach the hotel entrance. While in Elk City take a little drive around the downtown area and explore some of the other attractions in town along old Route 66.

Room Tip: If you are a big person or simply prefer a walk in shower to a bathtub, ask for a room with a walk i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Elk City is a stopover place heading west on I-40 from Oklahoma City, if you're too tired to make it to Amarillo, TX. Sleep Inn & Suites appears to be a newer property with very standard looking rooms and furnishings. The price was $75 + tax for 2 people on a Saturday night - reasonable I guess. So far, so good. My wife is very careful when it comes to bedbugs. We use the Bedbug Registry religiously, but the site was down when I made the reservation. As always my wife (a nurse) made a thorough inspection of the bedding. She found no evidence of an active infestation, but found blood stains on some of the sheets and pillow cases. We asked for housekeeping to come and change the bedding, but they did not have a housekeeper on duty (6PM). So they said that they would move us to an upgraded room. Ok fine. So we started the process over again. Firstly, it's an identical room - not upgraded. Then my wife discovers that the two beds in that room lack mattress pads. Mattress pads are designed to protect mattresses from people. If they're clean, they can also protect people from mattresses. This is especially important in hotel rooms where human-associated residue collects for all of eternity. So back to the front desk. My default request was the original room (with mattress pads) and clean linens so we could change the bedding ourselves (always a great bonding activity after driving 500 miles). That request was granted with a sincere apology from a trainee (he was struggling with a bad situation). Ok fine. Ordered a pizza, settled in, pizza arrived, laid laptop on lower portion of the nightstand. When I retrieved the laptop, it was covered with a thick layer of dust. Clearly, cleanliness is not a priority here. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irving G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place is brand new (June 2013 I think), so it's furnished with up to date decor and is in good condition. We have a King room and it's nice...not extra large but sufficient. I like that there are extra outlets on the bed side lamps so you can charge your computer/phone, etc. The room was clean, but others have mentioned, the common areas could use just a little bit more care. (Elevator, hallway, pool area, lobby was dusty...nothing terrible) The manager or owner ( I assumed he was) said that they were short handed today so maybe that had something to do with it. The pool was very cold (as others have mentioned)....actually looked at thermometer and it said 73, but he said that someone is coming to fix it tomorrow. Our bathroom has a shower, no tub, which is fine with me. It's a design that does not require a shower curtain, but it does allow water to splash out onto the floor. Plenty of towels so that wasn't really a problem. The water doesn't really flow down the drain real well, not because of a blocked drain, but because of the design, but again, not a problem. Someone else mentioned that the shower shelves are tiny, but if you use their shampoo, etc. the shelves are fine. There is a hook on the back of the bathroom door, but if you close the door and hang your towel there, you won't be able to reach it when getting out of the shower. Hopefullly they will install a hook or two closer to the shower. Another helpful thing would be a sign like you usually find when you get off an elevator directing you to your room with the numbers of rooms and arrows. Maybe that will come in time. The price was lower than others in the area, yet this is the newest so it was a no brainer for us. The breakfast was lacking compared to other Comfort Inns and the comparable Marriotts that we often stay in. They didn't have much variety, it was messy, and the eggs (kind of discs meant to go in a sandwich maybe?) were brown. They didn't have nuts or brown sugar for oatmeal and only had instant oatmeal. Also they were out of this and that. The girl taking care of the breakfast was nice enough though. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful with directions. All in all, we'd stay again for sure, especially if they can get the cleaning in common areas improved so it doesn't go down hill.

Room Tip: If you mind noise, I did hear a little upstairs noise so maybe ask for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plain1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Beautiful, spacious, well-decorated room. New facility. Very clean. Good breakfast. My experience with the desk clerk appears very different from the others. The man who checked us is barely looked at us, was on the phone at the same time, and mumbled in English with a very heavy accent. He was difficult to understand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-and-S050686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept. Our party had 3 rooms, 2 of the rooms were never given clean towels although the used towels were picked up and the beds were never made! The hallways and elevator were filthy. There was something sticky spilled on the tile leading from the elevator to pool and it was NEVER cleaned up. Would NOT recommend this hotel to ANYONE !! A BAD experience all together.

Room Tip: There is a La Quinta across the street, do yourself a favor and stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gplsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager9931, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Elk City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
I sincerely apologize & I am very sorry to learn your experience was such an inconvenience during your stay with us. We strive to provide to all our guests with a clean comfortable and safe stay at our NEWEST hotel in town at the lowest reasonable price in the town. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us,your issues have already been addressed 7 corrective measures taken. It is our hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you better with a managerial discounted room rate at the next time. Sincerely, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elk City hotels
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Elk City
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Elk City
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Residency Elk City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elk City
3.2 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#3 of 17 in Elk City
159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Elk City
Clarion Inn Elk City
#11 of 17 in Elk City
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Elk City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Elk City

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Elk City
Address: 2710 E Highway 66, SE quad of Hwy 34 & E. State H, Elk City, OK 73644-9636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Elk City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Elk City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Elk City 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites, an Elk City, OK hotel near Great Plains Regional Medical CenterThe Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel in Elk City, Oklahoma is centrally located near major highways. The Great Plains Regional Medical Center and Elk City Regional Business Airport are minutes away. Historic U.S. Route 66 runs through Elk City. The National Route 66 Museum Complex, located just five miles from this Elk City, OK hotel, is part of the Old Town Museum complex which offers a fascinating view of historic Elk City.Other attractions nearby include Elk City Speedway, Ackley Park and Elk City Golf & Country Club. The Red Carpet Community Theatre is just five miles away. Amenities at this Elk City, OK hotel include: •Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Indoor heated pool and hot tub •Exercise room The meeting room can accommodate a group up to 13. Guest laundry facilities and plenty of parking are available for additional convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Elk City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing