We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at Prairie Fire” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prairie Fire

Prairie Fire
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Elk City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch at Prairie Fire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were passing through Elk City and stopped at Prairie Fire for lunch. It was easy to locate downtown in the old railroad depot. The service was good, the food was great, and the setting enjoyable. The menu had a good variety of choices with reasonable prices for the selections. If traveling through again, it will be on our list of places to stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    59
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was a Monday night in Elk City and many restaurants were closed . . . so driving by Prairie Fire we saw people going in and thought we would give it a try.
Great service, full bar, great Chilli & gorditas (little fatty tortillas), the nights special, and a great waitress made for a really great meal.
The owner even came over for a chat.
For an added treat, the builing is a partially converted (left all the original stuff there) 1910 train station with a marvelous original tin ceiling.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
381 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND GREAT SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first time to visit and we all enjoyed it very much. My dad and I both had the hamburger steak, which was cooked to perfection with grilled onions and mushrooms with brown gravy. I had a salad and green beans for my sides and the gb's were very delicious. My mom and my aunt shared the Grilled Shrimp Tortiellini which was very good as well. It was enough for both of them, so the serving sizes were right on. Good food, great service, and above average food. We will be back for sure to try some more of their menu items. We ate here on a Tuesday evening and the place was packed, which says something about the GREAT service we had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank K9SONTHELOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hotel clerk was right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very accommodating for a couple wanting a light meal. I had the steak sandwich with baked sweet potato and wife had grilled chicken breast sandwich with green beans - all excellent without sauces or seasonings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank decatur_dug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's a Hoot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stopped in Elk City on a Monday night while travelling to Kansas/ Got to the motel after 8:00 p.m. and went to Prairie Fire after receiving a recommendation from the desk clerk. We arrived at this restaurant shortly after 8:30 pm and were welcomed and seated promptly. I had been somewhat concerned about getting seated so late (they close at 9:00 p.m.) but most of the tables were occupied even at this hour. We started with the excellent and reasonably priced margaritas and ordered steaks, which arrived quickly and were cooked to perfection. The check arrived and again I was pleasently surprised. Great food, prompt service and reasonable prices. Who could ask for more? I forgot to mention the ambiance. I spoke with Mary, the owner, who described that this restaurant is on the site of an old train depot. Mary told us that much of the original decor of the train station remains. It is fun and interestind decor. I especially liked the old transom windows and oversized tiles on the floor. When you are in Elk City, stop in the Prairie Fire and ask to meet Mary. She is a nice lady and her dedication to the success of this restaurant. I will definitely return here on my next trip here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hiwayyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Fire also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Fire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing