We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Onion Burgers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sid's Diner

Sid's Diner
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in El Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Onion Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Sid's serves great old fashioned fried onion burgers. The fries are thin and crispy. It may not be the healthiest but it tastes amazing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    44
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Burger Ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Fried Onion Cheeseburger was by FAR the best burger I have ever had!!!! We have eaten at a lot of places claiming to have great burgers but this was different...I cannot describe to you the texture of the hamburger meat!!! No gristly hamburger meat and the patties were nice and thin with perfectly cartelized onions smashed right into it!!!!! I can't say it enough...best EVER!!!! I am going to tell everyone I know when they have to make a trip to OKC ITS WORTH THE DETOUR TO STOP AT SIDS!!!!! Service was awesome too!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BRETT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Reno, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Onion Burgers & Steak Sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Sid's has a larger menu than Robert's, including chicken fried steak sandwiches, shakes, & other items. They have several tables & the service is good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank okie_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The incredible onion burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The online buzz about this place was incredible, so we had to give it a try. In the 1920s onions were cheap and meat was expensive, so a local El Reno businessman blended grilled onions with hamburger to save money. Through the years, Sid's Diner became famous for their onion burgers, and it has been featured on television shows such as Man vs. Food. The diner is just as famous for its milk shakes, so be sure to order one of those as well. We sat at the counter where we could watch the burgers being cooked. This was one of the best meals of the trip!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank whois23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Local diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

A real small town diner full of locals. The staff were really friendly and very welcoming, despite us asking loads of questions about the food – they even interrupted someone’s meal to show us how big the portion of fries was (very large!).

We dined like kings on burgers, fries and massive shakes - the second best shakes of our whole trip.

Whilst we were waiting for our food the staff brought out the guest book and showed us a photo album of when Adam Richman from Man V Food visited.

Nice food, nice price, nice place,

Recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LiciaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sid's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Sid's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing