We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice environment, Average Onion Burger”
Review of Johnnie's Grill

Johnnie's Grill
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in El Reno
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice environment, Average Onion Burger”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I made a "Route 66" run from OKC and decided to enjoy an El Reno Onion Burger. We weren't sure which of the three places in El Reno to try but since it was Sunday the decision was made for us because Johnnies was the only one of Sid's, Johnnies, and Robert's that was open on a Sunday. We were glad one of them was open.

The restaurant is quaint. The place has a home-town feel and the staff were extremely nice, attentive, and very friendly. Our waitress kept our soda pop topped up and made sure we understood the menu.

We each had an onion burger and we split an order of fries and an order of onion rings. The onion burger was average. It's flavor was OK, but not great. The size was just right for us (quarter pound patty, plenty of onions), but it seemed a little flat (like it needed some salt/pepper or something else to bring out the flavor just a little more).

The french fries were also average. My wife liked them more than me. The onion rings were excellent.

If I go back to El Reno I'll try one of the other places (probably Roberts from the reviews I'm reading here).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Onion Burger Madness”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nothing any finer than onions dripping down your chin from a delicious onion fried cheeseburger. I get mine with mayo and pickle. Fries and tots are good and the slaw dog is the best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgsooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
159 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Better than Sid's!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ate a burger and a coney at Sid's then drove down the block and ate at Johnnie's.

First of alll, the service and friendliness of the staff was much better at Johnnie's. They had no problem with us sharing one of each.

The slaw on the El Reno coney, a special concoction from that area had a much better flavor and not so sweet. The dog on the coney is very small, though, and bright red.

Compared to Sid's the onions in the burgers are coarser and have a better flavor, at least they did on the day we visited. Fun atmosphere at Johnnie's too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dede V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang, Ok
Level Contributor
217 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Don't eat here during fly season!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Food so, so. Have a bad fly problem, because they have a drive thru and window always lets flies in. Have only eaten here once, and was disappointed. Sid's is the best onion burger, Robert's is 2nd, Johnnie's is a distant 3rd.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blueturtle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We had breakfast when we last visited. The eggs and ham were cooked just as ordered. In the past I've had their slaw dog and found it to be very good. I usually eat here when visiting El Reno.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimHarvey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Johnnie's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing