We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but too many buildings closed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Reno

Fort Reno
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in El Reno
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Ok, but too many buildings closed”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We always enjoy visiting old forts but Fort Reno was just average. Only the visitors center and the chapel were open for a look inside. We had to look through the windows to see the inside of the rest of the other seven or eight buildings. So, it's obvious that what's left is in serious disrepair and it's going to take a lot of donations to bring the old Fort Reno back to life. I've seen other Forts in this shape also, that's why I rated it average. But I've seen better.... There is an old cemetery about a mile away which is carefully preserved on a tree filled hillside; it's tastefully maintained.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank imtom55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
224 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“was disapointed”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived in plenty of time only to see they had closed their gates to the Govt' SHUT DOWN..we have seen so many of those signs along the way.

We were planning to visit this little bit of history while we were on Route 66.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CloggieUsa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moro, Illinois
Level Contributor
389 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fort Reno, well worth a return visit!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I planned our Route 66 trip so that we could spend the night close and get up early to visit Fort Reno for the 2nd summer in a row. Yep, that's how much I enjoyed touring the Fort. The Post Chapel and Post Cemetery are the most interesting locations in the Fort. There is so much history at Fort Reno I wish I could spend a week!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingFreeWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ghost Walk Was Extremely Poor”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Once each month, during April through October, the fort hosts a ghost walk. Our family recently attended. The walk was scheduled to begin at 8;00pm, and convened in the post chapel. We first had to sit through a Powerpoint presentation by the Director of the historic fort, which attempted to give a history of the fort and some general current information. The presentation was full of mispronounced and misused words and some historical inaccuracies. Next we suffered through a presentation by a local "paranormal investigations" group that attempted to explain how they go about their investigations and some of their various findings (all at sites other than the fort). The total time spent in these presentations was about an hour and twenty minutes. Extremely boring. Next we split up into three large groups for a walking tour of the grounds guided by the "paranormal investigators". We stopped at a number of buildings to listen to the guide read from a paper script, first giving a history of the building. Again, mispronounced and misused words and historical inaccuracies. The guide then read a list of the alleged "paranormal activities" associated with the building. There was no attempt to create a mood or to weave a story, common themes in most ghost walks. The final phase of the walk was a tour of the old fort cemetery. The guide was a local student, who again read from a script, with mispronunciations, etc. We were back in our car at about 11:50pm.
We have been on ghost walks in the U.S., Canada, and England. The Ft Reno was by far the worst presented we have attended and was completely unenjoyable. It was unprofessionally and uncreatively presented. Don't waste your time on this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank luna749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing little nuget of Oklahoma history tucked just off the interstate”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Now that they have received some restoration funds the visitor's center & museum are looking great. A trip to the cemetary is a must do event for anyone with even a passing interest in history, both Oklahomian and for World War II (believe it or not). Along with settlers, scouts & soldiers there are German and Italian POW's buried at the Fort Reno Cemetary. The WW II POWs built a chapel at Ft Reno that is still used to this day. Incredibly interesting - if you find it interesting as well, you might also want to read "Extreme Justice" by Vincent Green, which covers the true story of German Corporal Johannes Kunze who is buried at Ft Reno, and was killed by his fellow POWs at the Tonkawa POW camp.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing