We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough pasta - overpriced for what you get” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Othello's

Othello's
Ranked #12 of 310 Restaurants in Edmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good enough pasta - overpriced for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Othello's in Edmond is one of those restaurants where the food is good but the pricing is as if the food is excellent. A real mismatch. They appear to be riding on a name and reputation.

We finished up our meal at Othello's agreeing that everything was above-average. Service was fine. "That was pretty good" seemed to be the common statement from kids to grandparents. When the bill hit, I realized that Othello's was pricing their food and drinks at 20% to 30% above what you would expect for "pretty good" food.

Kind of disappointing, but that's common among restaurants that ride history and reputation. We had no history with Othello's other than this one stop. Haven't been back since and we will likely not come back due to the variance. Not sure that we will be missed since the place was full of people with a long history of eating at Othello's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nweiss123, Manager at Othello's, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we pride ourselves In using the highest quality and freshest produce and meats. We make everything from scratch everyday, with no preservatives. Feel free to come and try use again and ask for myself and I can point you in the direction of a menu items that have more quantity. We also offer 1/2 price basic pizzas on Sunday evenings.
Thank you again,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    13
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Well so much for memories! I'd been here several years ago but had forgotten why I didn't return! Won't go back and make same mistake. We eat out several times per week and usually spend $40-$75 for a nice meal. This was a waste of money. I ordered eggplant fries for an appetizer (no taste) chicken Marsala w spaghetti (no taste) - couldn't taste any flavors, seasonings, wine - zero. My husband ordered garlic crusted ribeye which came w spaghetti also. It was tender and there was a slight garlic coating but overall he said it was bland. The spaghetti was noodles and tomato sauce ..... Not one other thing as far as seasonings. I am disappointed to have wasted money on this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank PointCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Unless you sit upstairs...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We have visited Othello's multiple times. The food is always great, and we would definitely recommend. The service is fine to good, unless you are seated upstairs. We actually have learned to request sitting downstairs, because if you are seated upstairs you will be forgotten about. That being said, go, enjoy, (request sitting downstairs) and have a great meal in a romantic setting!

Helpful?
Thank RockingT-Ranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nweiss123, Manager at Othello's, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your time to review us. I was not aware of this problem, but I will promise you we strive on excellent service whether you are sitting upstairs or down. I will bring this to my staff attention immediately. We appreciate your business and support and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome! Downtown Edmond, OK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is my favorite place to eat, the food is great! The staff and owners are awesome, they make you feel at home. The restaurant is warm, cozy and inviting. Don't forget about dessert, they have the best pies and cakes and if you are to full after dinner order a dessert to go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Italian restaurant and great salads and deserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nice cozy place with nice bar t
The food is good and the Cesar salad for two is great
Their deserts are really good
I like the pasta dishes and the trout

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Othello's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing