We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average But Definitely Filling”
Review of Nhinja Sushi & Wok

Nhinja Sushi & Wok
Ranked #147 of 313 Restaurants in Edmond
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese
Restaurant details
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just Average But Definitely Filling”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My 17 year old son and I have visited Nhinja twice now and both times we came away full but unimpressed. We have not yet ate the sushi yet so this is only a partial review. Both times we have sampled the Wok offerings. My son always goes for the shrimp fried rice and I have sample both the Tofu fried rice and the mongolian. We've also tried the Nhinja Poppers (shrimp) and spring rolls. The Nhinja Poppers are basically deep fried rice balls with a small sliver of shrimp in the middle that come with a spicy sauce for dipping. They are filling but not much taste. The spring rolls were terrible due to being overly greasy and they had pork that had the consistency of dry oat meal. Not good. The tofu in the tofu fried rice was the worst I've tasted in quite some time. Had the consistency of styrofoam and about the same amount of taste. This was strange to me because the tofu in the mongolian I had previously at Nhinja was very good. My son says the shrimp fried rice is decent but not on par with most Asian restaurants in Edmond and OKC. All in all I would say Nhinja is a good place to get a quick filling meal but don't expect fine cuisine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Sushi in a Fast-Upscale Niche”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

SUMMARY: Family friendly, fast, good value for good sushi

Nhinja Sushi is a family go-to place when we want to have a quick, healthy meal. There are definitely better sushi places in Edmond and OKC, but none have the combination of quality, price and speed that we can get here.

Service is always fast and courteous. I am always pleased to see a level of cleanliness and extra touches as well - small plates, chopsticks, multiple soy sauce options, small dipping bowls are available to nab any time.

In addition to the items listed on their menu, the Nhinja Sushi folks will custom-make items as well. Good stuff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi in Edmond.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We tried Nhinja Sushi & Wok in Edmond and will definitely be returning. All employees were very courteous, the service was exceptional, and the food was delicious. The restaurant was very clean. We had the Mandarin Orange Wok, Firefly Roll, Firecracker Roll, Geisha Roll, 911 Roll, JoJo Roll, and the Kobe Roll. All were excellent. The JoJo and the Kobe were something different but very good. Their miso soup is also very tasty. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmoore1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
193 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Below average Asian food in minimal surroundings”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nhinja is an Asian fast-food place. You order at the counter and your food is brought to your table. Nhinja claims to use fresh, high-quality ingredients, but the food doesn't taste like it. The hot and sour soup was dreadful - a dark brown tasteless broth with not much in it. The main dishes we ordered tasted like food from a poor cafeteria. My wife and I both thought that our food contained a lot of MSG or a similar compound. Prices are modest but high for what you get. A typical McDonalds has better decor and more pleasing surrpundings. We were very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soonerair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great prices, great food and great hospitality!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I went to Nhinja in Edmond this past Saturday. We were welcomed with outstanding hospitality. There were 7 of us in the party. They brought us lettuce wraps to try (free of charge). We ordered the sushi boat along with several other items each of which were very good. Nice, new and clean restaraunt. Loved it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arfcamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nhinja Sushi & Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing