We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It looks like a dump on the outside but the food is good.”

Steak & Catfish Barn
Ranked #151 of 319 Restaurants in Edmond
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Edmond, OK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“It looks like a dump on the outside but the food is good.”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A group of 4 ate at the Steak & Catfish Barn Friday evening and the food was very good. We have eaten at this place about a half dozen times and I think it is actually getting a little better each time. On the outside it looks like some place you would never stop. The decor on the inside is almost as bad as the outside but it definitely has that "casual" atmosphere. However, there are always lots of cars in the lot and that is a good indication. We arrived about 5:30 and they was no problem getting in. Our food arrived very quickly and by the time we left they were very crowded. Plan to wait if you get there at peak eating hours. Last night 3 had catfish and they always rave about the quality and portions. I had the brisket dinner which may be new on the menu? The brisket was not heavily seasoned but with the addition of the sauce it was very good and a large portion. The side salad is a little bland and skimpy but the baked potato was fine. My wife likes the green beans and hushpuppies. I am sure we will go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhowell92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elvispalooza and Fried Catfish, too!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

It is funky on the outside. Like someone's Uncle Will built a shed and put a kitchen in it. But inside, the staff is super nice, the fried stuff coming out of the kitchen is very good and the green tomato relish is a nice surprise.
While I was there a CD by female artist "Pink" was stuck in the CD player. Thought it was fun that the guests kept singing along to the cd, over and over. The staff groaned, but with the food and the decor, it was a perfect note.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TracyAnn_OKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Steak-Typical Roadhouse Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I went for lunch on a Saturday and the place was busy but not overly so. Decided to go with the 12 ounce RibEye with sides of mashed potatoes/gravy and okra. While the sides were just so so the steak was fantastic. I had it cooked medium and it was melt in your mouth tender. Great tasting steak cooked perfectly. The waitstaff was attentive and friendly while not being overbearing and intrusive. Very nice folks at the Steak and Catfish Barn. I will definitely go back again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, rustic, funky fun atmosphere”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went to dinner here after a college football game as "visitors" - friendly fun staff, really good food - home cookin' plus steaks - had the catfish - cooked just right, very tender - awesome hushpuppies. Reasonable prices. Healthy ample servings. Very casual. Not much to look at from the outside and inside is like a old diner/cafe' but worth the stop. Will go again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baylorbear85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Dive - Good food and friendly Service”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We usually try to eat at the Steak & Catfish Barn one a month. Don;t let the outside (or inside) keep you away; it's a dive but the food served is excellent. Good steaks, unbelievable fried catfish and a very good buffalo burger. The wait staff is great - old fashioned type service, a real enjoyable experience. The owner take pride in their food and service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak & Catfish Barn also viewed

 

Been to Steak & Catfish Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing