We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnolia Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Reviewed January 20, 2009

No frills, clean, much better than I expected for $46 a night.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank booklady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2008

We arrived late on Saturday evening. The desk clerk was rude, drinking and loud behavior throughout the property. The train track is 100 feet from the back of the motel. You can see through the door jams to the track. Trains blow whistles directly behind the motel throughout the night. NO CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST. I have stayed in Days Inns every where and have never stayed in one without a breakfast. It may be stale donuts and toast, but at least there is something. Nothing at this joint. We could have stayed at the Budget Motel across Hwy. 75 for twenty dollars less and received more for the buck.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kippythor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Stayed one night at the motel. I will not ever stay there again. Iwill never recommend it to anyone either! We checked in, the desk clerk name Victoria didn't seem to sure how the checki in process worked, kept asking the other girl sitting by her how to do things. The other din't know much more. That should have been my first clue. Finally got to the room, It was a older room, musty smelling. The bathroom was so small you couldn't even turn around, very much older bathroom, no toilet paper! we had to call for that. That night was aweful. got no sleep, was alot of noise! people out there talking and going in and out. motercycles going out, loud engine trucks leaving, and trains passing by. sounded like they were going to come thru the room. Finally check out time, the desk person a diffent girl named Vickie was very rude and arguing with me about the room not being payed for! Finally she admitted she was on the job her 3rd day she was there alone! andshe said she didn't know what she was doing. I asked for the manager and the manager wasn't ther on the property. his name was chris.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank angel1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Went to Lake Texoma and wanted to save some money, but still stay at a name brand hotel that would have non-smoking rooms (versus some cabin or small motel that often has all smoking rooms). Booked a multiple night stay. This experience first started off with a bad impression of the hotel as the lobby/check-in area is very unkept and one employee was seen flipping off another employee as they were presumably joking around. Very unprofessional. It got worse.

The first room we were sent to stunk...literally. It smelled like mildew/mold. And upon inspection it had black stuff growing in the shower/tub area. The room itself has not been renovated anytime recently since everything was old including carpet that could have been 20 years old. Went back to the front desk and told them this wasn't acceptable since we have allergies and it would be hard to breathe in the 1st room.

They gave us a different room. This room was even worse. It had the "no smoking" sticker outside the door, but there was an ashtray in the room and you could smell that it had been smoked in. It also appeared to be just as old in furnishings as the 1st room. We went back to the front desk and once again stated this was not acceptable.

We were nice (but firm) about it all and the one redeeming part of this experience was they didn't argue about giving us a refund. We left and will never return to this hotel! We ended up spending more elsewhere, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Okla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Stayed 2 nights. Room was not made up in between. Called front desk and was informed we had called down and requested them not to make up the room. No, we did not. Yes you did. Finally invited me to come to the office for some extra towels but help was snooty about it.

Bad stains on beadspreads.

Brother-in-law had vehicle broken into.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranjean2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
U.K.
15
Reviewed October 1, 2002

Pretty poor....Girl at reception did not know much of anything. Said the best restaurant was "just up the street", something Corral. did not even recommend the Holiday Inn restaurant.

Room looked old, smelled mildew and mold.

Not a good value at US$60.00+

Nigel

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durant
0.3 mi away
Best Western Markita Inn
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Durant
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Express Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Choctaw Lodge
Choctaw Lodge
#6 of 9 in Durant
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 2121 W Main St, Durant, OK 74701-4940 (Formerly Days Inn Durant)
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range: $49 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnolia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
81 rooms, 2 floorsPets are welcome for addition fee.The Days Inn Durant is located at Hwy 75/69 and Main in Durant, and 90 miles from Dallas Ft Worth International Airport.Hotel features include seasonal outdoor pool, El Tapatio restaurant, free parking, public high-speed Internet access, and free shuttle to and from casino.Each guest room has air-conditioning, am/fm clock radio, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Durant Hotel Durant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing