We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in Durant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Markita Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Upon arrival, I was greeted by the nicest lady that I have ever dealt with at a hotel/motel. She was very friendly and helpful. I wish I had gotten her name. She was helpful with directions to a particular resturant that I was looking for. Later in the evening, I realized that I needed distilled water for my cpap. She looked and looked for bottled water, but didnt have any. A short walk across the street to the store and I had what I needed. Over all and excellent stay. Clean room and comfortable bed. Will stay here on my next trip to Durant!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at Best Western Markita Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review. We know that you have many options when traveling and thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs. Our staff is dedicated to outstanding customer service and it is nice to hear that you had such a good experience with our clerk. We are also in the process of several updates to our rooms. We hope you have a chance to come back soon and enjoy them. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 195 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were on uur motorcycles heading sout to back home to Texas. The weather was horrible, started raining and the wind. After stopping here and asking if rooms were available we decided to stay for the night and get dried off. Nancy at the front desk, was great. She offered us a couple of extra towels, told us about the dryer for our wet clothes. The rest of the staff was great too, I just don't remember their names. The room was quiet and clean and dry, just what we needed. The breakfast on Sunday morning was great and if you have chance the waffles with pecans are great. This will definitely stay on my list of places that we will stay at on our next travels through Oklahoma. Theninternet wasn't working at thetime, but that happens sometime and there was a Mcdonald's a couple of doors down for free wifi. Not a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyerish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at Best Western Markita Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and for your patience with the internet during your stay. The problem turned out to be $1000 worth of equipment, including a switch and new wire. It took us several days for the repair company to get in the parts and repair the line. We are finally back up!
We really enjoyed your stay with us. Please stop again next time you are traveling through our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is an older hotel, but fresh paint, clean carpet, GREAT service. We requested a smoking room, on the ground floor, and we have a big truck. They gave us a room right by the truck parking, and there were a few thoughtful things I want to mention. There was a 4 plug outlet on the laptop desk, which was nice. I usually have to hunt for outlets to plug in phones, laptop, etc. There was a freshly laundered bagged blanket in the drawer, a laundry bag for soiled laundry, just little things like that that really helped. The rate was reasonable, and they DO have designated truck parking. I would recommend this hotel, and if we get that way again, will stay there. Many restaurants within walking distance also.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at Best Western Markita Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you so much for all your kind comments. We are constantly updating our hotel and trying to give our guests the most pleasant stay possible. We appreciate your review and your business. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We are roadtripping through and just happened to stop in Durant. It was a great rest stop! Lots of restaurants around, and Best Western was the best deal we found in town for a place to stay. Further down one way were slightly cheaper and lesser quality hotels, and down the other way are more expensive hotels (we didn't ask about the quality difference, but felt that we didn't need to shell out more bucks when we found Best Western more than adequate). This was a great middle option for us. The WiFi was good and strong, nice showers, big flat screen TV. They gave us a good room on the first floor which was nice for us with our bags. There is a small exercise room with some nice looking machines, but we didn't try them out.

The staff were super friendly and helpful, answering all our questions and directing us to the best restaurants in town. (Roma Italian, by the way, is the best! We ate there last night and the food is incredible, with live saxophone music too. We kept asking ourselves, How did this restaurant get HERE?)

We haven't had breakfast yet but our voucher for the Waffle Shoppe next door says, "2 eggs, bacon or sausage, hash browns toast or biscuit, coffee or sm juice OR $3 value towards any other breakfast." That's a pretty good breakfast to me!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SendyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at Best Western Markita Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

We would like to thank you for your compliments. We strive to educate our staff through training to be the best they can be. We are glad to see you had a positive experience with us. Jim, the owner or Romas, is my friend but he does have the best Italian food for the price in this part of the country. If you are ever in our area again, we would love to have you back.
Thank you,
Jim Thorpe, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed only one night in spa suite. Only reason we didn't stay longer is that they don't accept pets and the dogs had to stay in the truck overnight and it was still very warm. The room was very clean, staff very friendly. Great hotel if you don't have pets.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at Best Western Markita Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at BEST WESTERN Markita Inn! We appreciate your comments. We take pride in our staff and provide them with the best training possible to try to ensure excellent customer service. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Hotel is older, but very well kept. Front Desk Staff was very helpful - would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PamJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at Best Western Markita Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Thank you for your compliment. We pride ourselves on having the best housekeeping and front staff personel. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I spend about 10 nights a year at this motel when I'm working in Durant. I'm always pleased.

Room Tip: You'll get the best rates by phoning in the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaTravellerLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at Best Western Markita Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

We thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you are pleased with our hotel. We hope that you will continue to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again and hope we can make your next stay a pleasant expreience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durant
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durant
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Express Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Durant
19.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Texoma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Markita Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Markita Inn

Address: 2401 W Main St, Durant, OK 74701-4818 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Markita Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range: $84 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Markita Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this comfortable Durant, Oklahoma hotel offering convenient exterior access to all rooms! Whether your visit to south central Oklahoma is for business or pleasure, the Best Western Markita Inn is a perfect choice. Outdoor lovers enjoy the area’s many recreational attractions, from hitting the links at three nearby golf courses, including Chickasaw Pointe Golf Course, to fishing, sailing, camping and more at sparkling Lake Texoma. Guests at this Durant, OK hotel are also just minutes from the excitement of the Choctaw Casino, made even more convenient by a complimentary shuttle. Located near Highway 75 and the newer area of downtown Durant, corporate travelers staying at the Best Western Markita Inn are just minutes from local businesses like Cardinal Glass, a Big Lots distribution center, as well as oil and construction companies. This hotel in Durant is only three miles from Southeastern Oklahoma State University! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Markita Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durant
Durant Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing