We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beds would bring me back”
Review of Magnuson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnuson Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Excellent beds would bring me back”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is small, only has 2 floors. We booked a room on the 2nd floor with 2 queen beds. There were pros and cons, as with every establishment. But I would stay here again based solely on the high quality of the beds and pillows. So comfortable!!!! Nice soft bed and cushiony gel-filled pillows (4 on each bed).
Here are the rest of my comments, you can decide if they are a pro or con :)
* This hotel is not connected to the casino itself, but it adjacent to the parking lot so it's easily within walking distance. Or there is a free shuttle if you want to use it.
* There is no elevator so be prepared to haul your luggage up the stairs if you stay on the 2nd floor.
* There is a working railroad track that runs directly beside the hotel. It was very hard falling asleep because of the sound but once we fell asleep the noise from the train didn't wake us back up.
* Could hear kids crying in the rooms next to us and out in the hallway.
* The exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work. We told the people about it at the front desk when we checked out and they thanked us for letting them know and said they would be sure to fix it.
* The complimentary shampoo and bar soap were "White Marble" brand, nothing to get excited about. There were 2 bottles of "conditioning shampoo" but no separate conditioner. And both bottles had been opened and obviously used with sticky residue left on them. It wasn't very high quality so bring your own if you're picky about that sort of thing.
* The tray in the bathroom that held the complimentary shampoo / bar soap was dirty, smudged from leftover soap residue. I think housekeeping should be a little more thorough.
* Wolfgang Puck brand coffee in the room, both regular and decaf.
* The complimentary breakfast was good, typical hotel food. Eggs, biscuits, gravy, cereal, bagels, muffins, coffee, juice. The eating area was small but clean and the staff kept things well stocked.
* The beds and pillows were absolutely fantastic!! The mattress was soft, sheet satiny soft, pillows were gel-filled and comfortable but supportive. There were 4 pillows to each bed. We did have to ask for more blankets though. The ones on the beds weren't heavy enough.
* The water pressure in the tub was great, water was nice and hot. The shower nozzle worked fine but didn't give off much pressure, so if you like a nice pulsing shower you might be a little disappointed.
* Flat screen TV with a lot of channels to choose from, but the remote control was very dirty. A simple dusting would help.
* Bathroom sink area was very small and cramped and needed to be washed down.
* Small table between the beds could have used some cleaning ... there were sticky rings on it that looked to be left behind from the previous occupants.
* Small work table with chair built in to the wall.
* Room was a bit cramped if you need walking space but was good for what we needed.
* Great signal on the free wifi.
* Good blackout curtains in room.
* Padded sitting area at window if you want to look at parking lot of a casino or at a busy highway.
* Nice friendly check-in and check-out staff.
* Air conditioner worked great in the room.
* iPhone / iPad dock on the radio ... but the radio itself was very dusty and had fingerprints all over it. A quick cleaning with a rag would be a good thing for the housekeeping staff to incorporate. I chose not to put my electronic devices on it because it was so dirty!
* Towels in bathroom were standard issue but were soft and sturdy.
* Built-in hairdryer worked nicely.
* Rooms are non-smoking and smelled fresh, considering most people staying there are going in and out of the smoky casino.
* You could smell fresh paint from some remodeling they were either in the process of or have done recently, but the smell wasn't overwhelmingly strong.
* Pet friendly
So ... to sum it up, I would stay again because of the high quality beds but would know to bring extra noise-dampening devices and some cleaning rags!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ned4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your excellent and very comprehensive review of the Lodge. I am very pleased that you like the beds and pillows; we spent a long time trying to find a good pillow for our guests. We also work to make all of our guests feel rested and then full at breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
23
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The telephone reservations people need to be a little more polite and to recognize the Lodge as a wonderful place to stay. They made it sound as though I was being sent to Purgatory. What a pleasant surprise!!! The room was perfect (and newly renovated), the bed very comfy,the staff (thanks, James) really helpful, competent and fun people. The comp breakfast was excellent. The comp shuttle to the casino, restaurants and the pool and spa was great,too. A good stop even if you are not interested in the casino. Thanks!!
Jack Foley

Room Tip: Don't let the reservations clerks steer you to the Inn or the Hotel....ask for the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, we are so glad we could give you a pleasant surprise. We know that we are not necessary the first choice for all of our guests. But once we get them to the Lodge we want to Wow them with great service, a happy team and an excellent hot breakfast in the morning. In your case it worked, thank you and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I would like to commend Choctaw on their staff at the Lodge. My interaction with Krystalyne Bogart was beyond exceptional. Her personality, professionalism and genuine concern for the guests is superb. Krystalyne and the rest of the staff bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect.

I had a group visiting the lodge for the first time and needless to say, I will be returning to stay at the Lodge again.

Thank you!!!
Marti Gros

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review and comments on the team. We are very happy to read that all of our hard work and training has made your stay excellent. Krystalyne was so excited to see her name on your review, that’s what we all live for, happy guests. Thank you and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeker, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just wanted to add to the all ready great reviews for the Lodge. My husband and
I chose to stay at the Lodge instead of the Tower because the Lodge welcomed
our little poodle Roxy. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Our bed which
is very important had nice fluffy pillows and the mattress was just perfect for a
good nights sleep. We woke up to a wonderful breakfast and complimentary 24 hour coffee, juice, and even espresso...Wow!! Roxy loved all the lush green grass
that was so easily accessed which made the stay even more pleasant.. Krystal Linn and all the housekeepers could not have been friendlier. We also enjoyed the
British Manager whom we shared a few jokes over breakfast..:)) Will definitely
do a return stay...

Room Tip: our first floor room made taking the dog our so easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, we loved having Roxy come and stay, you are exactly why we made the Lodge pet friendly. We believe that our pets become members of the family and why not take them on holiday too! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Made reservations the person that I talked to was very friendly and helpful. Had to push the reservations back for another week and they told me that there was no problem. Fast and friendly. We felt that we were right at home there. The room was beautiful, and we were very impressed. They even put a small refrigerator in there for us! We were not sure of bringing our pets and kids with us but next time we will bring them! They have alot to do for the children and will be able to take turns at the casino while watching them at the pool and game room. We will definitely be going back very soon I hope! Thanks for making our stay a fantastic exeperience! The breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannytepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you have found the team friendly and helpful. We too love the new rooms and we were glad to supply for you a fridge. We all look forward to seeing you return with the family now the pool is open. Come back soon and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We made a last minute reservation and were told the only availability was at the Choctaw Lodge. We usually stay in the tower or Inn. I was very hesitant about making the reservation since I hadn't stayed there before. We were so pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very nicely decorated, very comfortable and clean. An extra perk was the complimentary breakfast. It was well stocked and the food was very good which included sausage links, biscuits and gravy pastries, bagels, cereal, juice and coffee. The casino is a very short distance from the lodge. You could walk or they have a complimentary shuttle. The front desk staff were very friendly and greeted us each and every time we entered the lobby, asking if the was anything we needed and if we were enjoying our stay. We will gladly accept these accommodation on future visits.

Room Tip: I didn't see an elevator so be sure to ask if you have a handicap family member. My mom is in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We are glad the Inn and Tower were fully booked so you could come and experience the Lodge. We love the new rooms and we were very happy to see that you enjoyed our Breakfast as we love it too. We all hope to see you again soon and we hope that you make the Lodge your first choice now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My sister and I took my mom here as a Mother's Day gift to see Cee Lo Green and do a little gambling. We had the Jacuzzi suite and I must say the room was very nice. Although we spent little time in the hotel everything was great. The breakfast was delicious too. I really enjoyed the biscuits and gravy and sausage. The staff was great and helpful. I will be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: choose an upper floor room if light sleeper due to people dragging luggage down stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you gfor your great review, We were glad to see that you and your Mom decided to see you would celebrate Mothers Day with us. We are glad you loved the room and team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durant
2.8 mi away
Best Western Markita Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Express Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Durant
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel

Property: Magnuson Hotel
Address: 4617 S 9th Ave, Durant, OK 74701-2173 (Formerly Choctaw Lodge)
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choctaw Lodge is located less than 400 feet from the Choctaw Casino, Durant. Near Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Lake Texoma, Eisenhower State Park, Red River Railroad Museum and the Johnson Creek Recreation Area. The Choctaw Lodge offers guests free buffet breakfast served from 6:30 am to 10 am, free shuttle to Choctaw Casino, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, free parking with room for large vehicles and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, free high speed wireless internet access, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board, sofa bed and electronic door locks. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Durant
Durant Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing