We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
Ranked #12 of 72 Restaurants in Durant
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Really good tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were staying at Comfort Inn which was right across the street. I read the reviews and decided we had to try it. I had a crispy beef taco and husband had something else but it came with rice and beans. We loved the rice and beans. I loved my taco. We loved the salsa. I'm not sure what other reviewers are talking about when it comes to the staff. We felt very welcome here. It was so good, that the next day we went back and had a repeat order. Looking forward to going again!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lapatrona54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Would not try this place again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I got a chicken enchilada dinner and a margarita. The chicken has absolutely no flavoring at all and it is extremely dry.
The place really needs a good scrubbing. It looks like it has been there a while and really is in need of a good cleaning. Hate to see what the kitchen looks like.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank girlgodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
180 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Condescending Server, not for me.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The fajetia's were tough, and worse, my wife ordered "no bell peppers." When they arrived, she confirmed with the server, and he acknowledged she did order no bell peppers. But followed it up with "It's only one [bell pepper], you want me too make you another one?" She quit pulling peppers out of her fijetias after four. We did not appreciate the tortillas being banged on our table while we were praying either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retired-Coastie1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not your tex mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Food was very good for a non chain tex mex place. Service was OK and the prices were fantastic. Tea was weak and queso was delish.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“That is some good Mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good atmosphere, food, and fast friendly service. If I had a complaint it would be that they underestimated our ability to consume chips and hot sauce.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smittyc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing