We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Condescending Server, not for me.”
Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Durant
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Condescending Server, not for me.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The fajetia's were tough, and worse, my wife ordered "no bell peppers." When they arrived, she confirmed with the server, and he acknowledged she did order no bell peppers. But followed it up with "It's only one [bell pepper], you want me too make you another one?" She quit pulling peppers out of her fijetias after four. We did not appreciate the tortillas being banged on our table while we were praying either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not your tex mex”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Food was very good for a non chain tex mex place. Service was OK and the prices were fantastic. Tea was weak and queso was delish.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“That is some good Mexican food!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good atmosphere, food, and fast friendly service. If I had a complaint it would be that they underestimated our ability to consume chips and hot sauce.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smittyc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
154 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Better than average”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stopped here on a Thursday evening. Chips and salsa were slightly above average. The menu is very large--lots of possibilities. We ended up getting a seafood quesadilla, the chicken special of the day, and the fajitas tropical. All were quite good. They used imitation crab in the quesadilla, and while I usually like that in other dishes, it overpowered the shrimp and scallops in this one. The chicken was quite good. Our boy said he liked the tropical fajitas. Portions were very large. Service was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing