We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice casino-food service not good”

Choctaw Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Durant
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Popular gaming facility features a variety of table games, high-stakes bingo and off-track betting.
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice casino-food service not good”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Choctaw Durant is a nice sized casino. They have a very good ventilation system compared to most casinos. They don't seem to have enough staff at times; e.g. long drink waits unless you're in the high limits section. But, they are friendly for the most part and the casino has a lot of slot machines. They have a great parking garage. We have eaten at Gilley's on 2 different occasions and the service was ridiculously slow. Both times there weren't many people seated but it took at least 20 minutes on our last visit just to place our order and that was after attempting to get the attention of anyone working there. When we did place our order that was slow as well; about 30 minutes and one of us (out of 2) got an appetizer. The food is pretty tasty and the wait person was very apologetic but; it's just too frustrating and not worth the prices to endure their poor service. Seems like a management issue.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at Choctaw Casino Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Mel M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I have spoke with our manager at Gilley's about your concerns. We appreciate your feedback and she has assured me that we are adding more staff to decrease our wait time. As our valued guest, your feedback is extremely helpful in our quest to be the best at Guest Service. Thank you again and have a wonderful day.
Thank you,
Kat DeCaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    167
    108
    37
    91
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonard, Texas
Level Contributor
397 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Nice Oklahoma Attraction - Needs Good Management”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We don't often go to the Choctaw Casino but we went this weekend to see the Reba concert. They seem to be having some more popular National acts stopping in Durant so we thought we would give it a try.

We arrived at the casino early and went to Gilley's to eat dinner. The menu looked really fantastic and everything really sounded good. We gave the waitress our order at 5:45 and the restaurant was not super busy at the time. We received our food at 6:40... 55 minutes later. Our sandwiches were very good when we finally received them but also very small for the $8.95 they cost. The folks at the next table said the same thing and they received their food in only 45 minutes. All of the dinner servings we saw going by seemed very small. During all of this time we looked for someone that might have been a manager but could not find anyone. The waitress was nice, and trying to please, but we only saw her about every 10 to 15 minutes. This restaurant has the potential of being really good but they need some major management to get involved. Every eating location in the casino had very long lines, all of the time, from what we could see. It does not seem very well arranged for a large crowd that shows up on weekends. I would recommend that you eat somewhere before arriving if you go to Choctaw.

The "Events Center" is across the street from the main casino. Its a long walk when its 38 degrees out so we took the shuttle over to the event. The building looks like it is made for rodeo events mainly. It is all floor level seating, in folding cheap card table chairs. There are a small amount of raised seating around two sides of the arena. We go to concerts frequently and this has to be one of the most uncomfortable venues we have been to. Thankfully they don't allow smoking inside. The concert was of course sold out, about 4000 plus people. There are two fairly small restrooms, one men and one ladies. The ladies restroom was not working so they had it blocked off most of the evening. The concert was fantastic as you would expect with Reba. The sound was better than I had expected considering the cement floor and what seemed like a metal building. The sound system there is not the greatest. When the concert was over they told us the shuttle buses would be out front waiting to take us back to the casino.... there was one bus and about 400 people and it was about 35 degrees. Management should have known better than this and planned several buses. We had to wait about 30 minutes out front for a bus to finally show up. Not sure I would want to attend an event there in the future.

We have not stayed in the resort. We hear it is very nice. The casino was clean and updated but very smokey. The restrooms were nice a clean. The people that write a review about how the slots are paying out are just silly. This is an Indian owned casino. They are there to make money. Casino's like this are set up to pay out much less than Las Vegas. You won't hear much about winners there. It can be a fun evening or weekend if you don't expect to come out ahead.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank Jack2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at Choctaw Casino Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Jack,
I'm very impressed and appreciate the amount of details in your review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated by our Choctaw Team and will be shared for review with Management. Thank you for choosing Choctaw as your place to play and we look forward to another visit in the future.
Thank you,
Kat DeCaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't expect to win money take what you can lose”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Beautiful Hotel staff is very friendly and very helpful,nice people, Management not so much. Have been going to Choctaw for over 4 years. Up until they opened Gilleys, April 2012 and started booking higher priced talent the slot machines were paying out. Apparently they can't afford to pay out on the slots and pay Gilley for his name, and pay for talent at the center. Changed the machines as well, so if it pays out a little money, Next time you go, that machine will have been fixed. Play penny machines, you will still lose but it will take longer and be less painful.Their idea of a jackpot is approx 300.00 so if you ever see 300.00 on the slot, get out. That is it's best pay out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank W b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at Choctaw Casino Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
As our valued guest, we appreciate all feedback. Thank you for the kind words regarding our Hotel and taking the time to recognize our friendly staff. Have a wonderful week and we look forward to your next visit to Choctaw Casino Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Time in at Choctaw Casino”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went to Choctaw Casino last week- Feb. 3, 4, 5, 2013 Sun. Mon and Tues.

My first time to visit a casino only my 2nd time in Oklahoma. My date and I were sooo excited. (believe it or not this was our first intranet date).

The rooms were gorgeous, casino was immaculately clean. Food wasn't bad either. But our trip up to the first place we went was a little bar as you first walk in. There were 3 women who were working. Very rude didn't want to wait on us and it was a very slow afternoon. Not sure what the problem was we didn't see any ....When we finally got waited on the drink took forever to get there (still not busy), then when we proceeded to order our second drink it took even longer (still not busy) same 3 women working. We were not rude or gross looking people not sure what the problem was. Needless to say it sorta ruined my first visit (actually first 15 min. there). Then the next day we were winning 350 dollars (on a penny machine if you can imagine) we had spent most of our money by the 3rd day. The staff needed to service the machines. Which I totally understand but the manner in which they explained it was of the rudest nature. And I always thought the reason the staff had jobs was because of the customers. Sorry to say we will keep our money and our smiles in Texas. No more Oklahoma for me. Too bad a few rude people have to ruin a trip full of great memories.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at Choctaw Casino Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Sarah N,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your first trip to Choctaw. I'm disappointed it wasn't 100% satisfactory. We appreciate your feedback because it enables us to strive to be the best at Guest Service. I hope to see you again in the future and wish you a very Happy Valentine's Day.
Thank you,
Kat DeCaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“extremely disappointed”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

went for a quick, one night trip after attending a trade show in Dallas. We had stayed at the Omni in Dallas and it was fabulous for 149.00 a night, had exceptional service, never opened a door myself, the room was well stocked with towels and it was just an awesome overall experience. Can't say so much for Choctaw, we paid over 200.00 for our room that had no extra towels, that is only a minor issue, but worth mentioning as most of us want to freshen up before going out when you pull in on a Friday afternoon and you don't want to have to track down towels on Saturday morning so you can shower for the day. The casino was so crowded and the smoke ( i expect it to be smokey, after-all it is a casino) was absolutely disgusting . the drink prices ridiculous and i played one machine for a couple hours and never once had a server come by to offer to sell me a5.00 bottle of beer. this morning when we went for breakfast...the buffet does not open until 11 - seriously?? On a Saturday morning the buffet is closed at 10am and we had to go over to the Blue Moon where we waited and waited to be seated. I finally asked one of the servers if we could just take the booth in the back, she replied with a very snotty - I guess. they had a small breakfast buffet, we decided to go with the buffet as it might have taken us an hour to order and get served from the menu. the buffet had cold eggs....we had to wait on silverware. they were very busy, so i appreciated that the server was trying, but in an establishment such as this, service should be over the top with excellence. we are playing on their machines supporting their business, the least they could do is provide us good service. i wonder just how far out you have to make spa reservations and if they re so busy, why don't they tell you when booking your room that you should go ahead and book any spa services. It was just less than the service level that we would expect to find when, stuffing the machines with money, losing on the tables, paying high dollar for drinks, service should be exceptional. Oh and the Java Cafe had two people in front of me at 11:30 last night and i walked away because i got so tired of standing there, waiting.. we left at 11am, we were there 17 hours and it disappointed overall....they are completely understaffed AND the gal at the front desk when we checked out, I very nicely responded when she asked if we enjoyed our stay, but she didn't really care, she handed me a comment card to fill out. i decided to bring it home and make a phone call to the hotel on Monday morning.

crummy service, expensive drinks, crowded (packed) horrible smoke.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank tina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at Choctaw Casino Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I am very sorry you experienced everything that was posted. I have shared your comments with all appropriate department managers to address with our team immediately. Guest Service is at the forefront of everything we are about at Choctaw so I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Again, I apologize for your last experience and do hope you visit us again. Have a wonderful week and Happy Valentine's Day!
Thank you,
Kat DeCaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choctaw Casino Resort also viewed

 

Been to Choctaw Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing