We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat at the 1832 Steak House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Choctaw Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Certificate of Excellence
Ft Worth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Do not eat at the 1832 Steak House”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I love to at fine restaurants and anticipated a good steak at the 1832 Steak House inside the Choctaw Casino. What we received was the worst meal we have ever experienced in our life. In a nutshell, I had to send my steak back because of mis-communication between the waitress and the chef. I guess the chef got upset and loaded the steak, baked potato and spinach with so much salt that it could not be eaten. When I complained to the manager, she defended the chef until I insisted she taste the food. She could not swallow it.
There is no excuse for this type of behavior anywhere. This is not an upscale restaurant or a "fine" restaurant. When you discover management and cook staff acting this way, please be careful.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
22 Thank gary002010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    212
    96
    57
    61
See reviews for
162
344
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The hotel is above par for a casino hotel in Oklahoma. Starting with valet, bellman, front desk and up to the tower room was very pleasant; such a novel concept to actually use your name when they speak with you. The hotel and casino are very modern and exceptionally clean we did not have time to use all the amenties but they looked very nice. We definitely would go back for another visit; our visit was two nights. If you plan on eating at 1832 steakhouse you need reservations.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the tower rooms not the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

we went for a nice weeken getaway. The hotel was very clean and decore very nice. The food was great at 1832 steakhouse as well as the buffet and blue moon inside the hotel. Had a wonderful at the pool area, which was a beauitful site. lots of pool area to not be over crowded. The hotel service was great enjoyed the slots even though we didnt win but I will be back for sure. great price as well 300. for the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choosenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

we have stayed 3 times at the hotel both at the inn and the tower, we spend alot of money when we are there and this last time we stayed i had asked for better pillows because of the ones being so flat and hard and with the promise that they would deliver i had to call the front desk 3 times and they were never delivered to us. we spend alot of cash in your casino and i have yet to get any payouts and we have left to leave with more than we came with. im sorry but your payouts are weak. the hotel itself the first time we stayed at the tower was beyond dirty and when we complained it was a im sorry and yes you still took the money. i think overall i would rather go to the isle of capri in louisianawhere they were more than ready to accomidate us and go out of there way to make us feel welcome. we have never asked for a comp on anything but if ever there was one we would ask it from your hotel. i have never felt more unwelcome in a facility as i was in yours. we keep comming back in the hopes it will be a better stay. the beds in the inn may be more uncomfortable but the rooms are very clean and show more pride than at the tower of which we will never accomodate again. thankyou mr and mrs Kenneth Purtell sherman texas

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angelkiss53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, KS
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Wanted to go somewhere different on our vacation and narrowed it down to the Choctaw Casino Resort near Lake Texaoma in Durant, Oklahoma or the WinStar World Casino in Thackerville. For a fun, relaxing time I think we picked the right one. The hotel, casino and restaurant staff are all friendly and charming, filled with the southern hospitality you expect from this area.

In the mornings we would take advantage of their beautiful pool complex, consisting of an indoor-outdoor pool and the Oasis with waterslide, lazy river and swim-up bar. There was also an outdoor movie screen that they sometimes schedule "drive-in" style entertainment on. These are also saltwater pools, so you don't smell like chlorine when you get out.

There are three lounges, a food court, buffet and three other restaurants. The Chinese food station in the buffet features a Mongolian BBQ and was particularly good. The Blue Moon Cafe offers 50's diner style food with an upscale flair. I enjoyed a very juicy bacon and bleu burger there and catfish with waffle fries on separate occasions. Out favorite was Tomatillo Mexican Grill. We dined there the first night of our stay and returned on the last. The chipotle rubbed rib-eye steak was one of the best cuts of meat I'd had in along time and was cooked to perfection.

The hotel rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable. There is a safe, a mini fridge (no mini bar) and a pod coffee maker. The 32" HD TV's had more channels than we're used to in a casino hotel, with most cable favorites.

There is a huge selection of slots, both Las Vegas style and bingo-based. We enjoy playing both kinds and video poker (my favorite). There is blackjack, roulette and craps, but I only play table games in Oklahoma during "no ante" promotional periods.

The Choctaw Casino Resort fulfilled all our expectaions and exceeded many. We're starting to plan a return trip in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have stayed here about four times since moving to the Dallas area. We were very pleasantly surprised when we first stayed here- the oasis pools are amazing. There is a large indoor pool and outdoor pool that is connected. The outside oasis pools are really neat- there are waterways connected by small pools. Waterfalls and three spas, plus a really fun waterslide. Adults and kids all have fun! There is an adult only pool that has a swim up bar. Cocktails are served poolside, but food is not. There are lifeguards on duty as well. Some evenings they play a movie on a large screen so you can swim and watch a movie at night- my daughter loved this part!

As far as the hotel rooms go- we have stayed in both the tower and the Inn. The Inn is the older side of the hotel and the rooms are fine- nothing special, but they are clean and comfortable and have a fridge and micro. The tower is much more luxurious with better toiletries, larger flat screen tv, and better linens. Nice large walk-in shower. The tower rooms have a fridge.

The restaurants are ok, service is not very good. There are several choices which are always nice. I agree the casino, while clean and good air quality, is somewhat lacking.

We go mainly to have cocktails by the pool and relax by the pool. All in all, if you are looking for a nice quick getaway- this is a great choice!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stayed at the Inn for a couple of nights and had a great time. The pool area is extremely nice and the employees are friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durant
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durant
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
3.2 mi away
Best Western Markita Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Express Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Durant
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Choctaw Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choctaw Casino Resort

Property: Choctaw Casino Resort
Address: 4216 S Highway 69 # 75, Durant, OK 74701-1955
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Choctaw Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Choctaw Casino Resort in Durant, Oklahoma, includes 330 hotel rooms, a natatorium, fitness center, business center, full-service spa and three retail outlets. In addition, there is a 175-seat amphitheater, nine restaurants and 110,000 square feet of gaming space, including 4,000 slot machines, 30 poker tables and 40 table games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Choctaw Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing