We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to this place?”

Arbuckle Wilderness
Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Davis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Drive-through safari adventure featuring lots of exotic animals.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What happened to this place?”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We took our little girl to see this for a day out and it just was nothing like what it use to be. Seems like they charge a lot and there is nothing but donkeys and lamas. The whole park seems empty and not well kept. The gift shop was dark and the bathrooms were nasty. Looks like a old ran down ghost town with all the old wood and broken down exhibits. Whoever owns this should be ashamed!

Helpful?
7 Thank Travelingbees11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    44
    36
    39
    68
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hmmm....”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was interesting because I'd never been to a place like this. There were a LOT of emu's, el paca's and donkeys. It's really only fun if you buy the food for the animals, but make sure that you buy enough because it runs out quickly. The little walk through zoo on the side is a JOKE. It almost made me want to call peta because the habitats of these animals were so poor. SO POOR. Wow. We were here in June and none of the side attractions that were advertised were actually open. The bouncy houses were deflated, the bumper cars/boats weren't running. It was like a ghost town with a few sad animals in sad exhibits. I do not recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nature and Animals some Unique”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I read some of the reviews and they are true not as nice as it used to be, but the enconamy is effecting a lot of things.
But take your time and look around. Where can you go and see Zebra, Giraffe, deer of different kinds, huge long horns, elephant and other exodic animals.
Load up your kids and go for a family day out, spend some quality time together. It is better than sitting home playing the X-Box.
We are lucky to have a place like this in the State of Oklahoma go out and support what we do have.
If you are traveling down I-35 North or South it is worth the time to take the drive through the park, I guarantee it will be one of the things talked about when you get home. You never know your children may love it. It should be something to see if your that close regardless of age.
Take the time we are in to big of a hurry anyway slow down and look around at what we really have. Enjoy

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gosomewhereelse51642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun but not a lot of variety”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went here when Turner Falls wouldn't allow our dog in the park. We got three cups of food and ran out halfway thru. The animals came right up to the car and we had some good laughs about how cute they were. Lots of donkeys, ostriches, lamas, and camels, but only a couple zebras.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NatMal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
250 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wish it was a state funded park.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Not a lot of animals to see, but our 6 yr. old grandson had fun. He didn't know any difference. After seeing the animals there, they have go carts so we went to drive them, it was fun. The park could be so much better if they had the funding.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank debikc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arbuckle Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Arbuckle Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing