We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was very interesting”

J.M. Davis Arms & Historical Museum
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Claremore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: World's largest privately held firearms collection. More than 12,000 firearms ranging from 1350 to today. Also, Native American Artifacts, WWI history, Cowboy saddles, spurs & brands, music boxes, musical instruments. Fun for the whole family.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was very interesting”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I went and we loved it. I am not sure gun person bjt the history behind a lot of the arms was fascinating. I especially enjoyed seeing types of weaponry I had never even known exisited. On top of the weaponry they had some other interesting things such as steins and musical instruments. This is definitely a place too put on your bucket list.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank natashaangel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I read these reviews and wanted to see the surrey with the fringe on top, so we stopped by. I am not a gun person and know very little about them. However, I was quite impressed. First of all was the huge volume of guns – 14, 000 I think they said. Secondly were some famous outlaw guns like Bonnie (& Clyde), Pretty Boy Floyd, & Jessie James. There was even a toy gun collection and my husband remembered playing with (cap guns) when he was a child. It was fun to see the surrey, and there were many other collections besides guns which were fascinating. J.M Davis & his wife are entombed there, as he wanted “to be buried with his guns.” It’s free and you can spend as much or as little time as you like. But if you have some spare time, it is a worthwhile attraction.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville,tx
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots and lots of guns”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

At the J.M. Davis Arms and Historical Museum the collection contains over 50,000 guns and related items. The visit was very interesting and the walk around takes a few hours just to observe the displays. There are rifles from many eras, black power guns, rare Colts and Winchesters, and guns belonging to past outlaws. There are also knives, swords and Indian artifacts. In all the museum is in a 40,000 sq.ft. building so plan on spending some time there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great arms history”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went with husband nd my daughter's boyfriend. It has arms and munitions from around the world in all shapes and sizes. Cases and cases of them plus cannons, ancient to recently historical musical instruments, German strings, and even the original "Surrey With the Fringe on Top"from the musical Oklahoma. They have a set of toy trains with buttons to activate motion and the horns, kids would love that! The fee is donation only and they have places throughout you can add. Fee goes to ongoing daily maintenance and upkeep. Was surprising to have such an extensive history. Mr Davis collected a lot of it during his lifetime. One room tells of him and early Claremore history and how the museum came to be. A small gift shop has items for souvenirs but I was a little disappointed they were sold out of the movie Oklahoma during my visit. A lot of benches throughout to sit and rest helps.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DonnaH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Cabin OK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you like guns, you'll love this place.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

They have tons of guns, they have so many that they don't display all of them at once yet it would take hours to see each one. My favorite is the cane that is a gun.

Helpful?
Thank TStotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.M. Davis Arms & Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to J.M. Davis Arms & Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing