We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to experience”

Will Rogers Memorial Museum
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Claremore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Memorial museum and resting place for the American icon.
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place to experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is one place to experience just what Will Rogers is all about. They even have a movie house inside to experience some of Will Rogers old movies. Check it out you won't be sorry.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    52
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fitting memorial for an amazing man.”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The museum is a beautiful building on a beautifully landscaped hill overlooking Claremore. Entry to the museum is only 5 dollars (4 dollars for seniors or vets). The staff was very friendly and informative. Will Rogers was a cowboy, vaudevillian, newspaper columnist, radio personality, movie star, author, comedian, humanitarian and adventurer. The museum nicely shows each aspect of Will Rogers' life with memorabilia, artifacts, his many famous quotes, radio broadcasts and movies. There is a small theater that shows some of his Hollywood movies. A larger theater shows a movie about Will Rogers' life narrated by Bob Hope (highly recommended). The Rogers family tomb is outside the museum and includes a large statue of Will Rogers on his horse overlooking Claremore. There is a small bookstore within the museum as well. I almost bought a rope to try some of the rope tricks we saw in one of the movies. I did not fully appreciate how great a man Will Rogers was until I visited the museum. Experiencing the museum is far better than any kind of biography on TV. I highly recommend visiting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BCMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Impressive memorial”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Extremely knowledgable and helpful staff, very well maintained facility on a hill over-looking Claremore. Clean restrooms, convenient parking. Learned a lot about this multi-faceted man's life.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ozarker2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will Rogers Museum”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Friendly staff, great movies and a wealth of information about the man and the time in which he lived.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wildcat51267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Visiting Will on his birthday”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

While traveling through OK we had been told to visit 3 places Bartlesville, Claremore and the Cherokee Nation. Although we found that there are not many motor homes traveling the OK roads during November, we determined that would be our choice as we were on the way to Tulsa for a convention. Our visit first took us to Bartlesville and Woolaroc, Phillips 66 Museum and the home of Frank Phillips. Each of these were thoroughly enjoyed but when we left we headed for Claremore and the desire to learn more about Will Rogers. The Will Rogers Memorial Museum was the place to do this. Each of the exhibits featured a different aspect of Will's life and those that influenced him and he influenced. This is a wonderful place to achieve our goal of learning more about Will.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Will Rogers Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to Will Rogers Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing