We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In serious need of modernisation”
Review of Lincoln Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincoln Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chandler
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In serious need of modernisation”
Reviewed December 15, 2009

My wife and I decided to stay in the Lincoln Motel to get a taste of "old Route 66" - wish we'd spent the extra $30 and gone to a chain motel instead.
The room (#103) was old, battered and ill cared for. The bed smelled musty, the bathroom was unpleasant with damp patches, rippling wallpaper, discoloured sealant around the bath - I could go on but a previous reviewers photos (of the same room) say it all.
The room was freezing when we entered, the thermostat on the wall controlled a decades old gas heater that gave off an acrid smell that stung our eyes and the room was so poorly insulated that when we turned the heater off the temperature dropped below freezing again within ten minutes.
We were glad to leave the Lincoln Motel, it's a shame to find an original landmark like this in such a state. On the way out we did notice some apparently more modern brick-built chalets on the end of the row - maybe these are more pleasant to stay in...?

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chili-cheese-fries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    11
    4
    13
See reviews for
13
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I stopped at Lincoln Motel while driving Route 66 with my husband, and we decided to sleep there for a proper 'Route 66 Motel' experience.
It was cheap, which is always good, and the bed linen seemed clean enough, but the rest was horrible. I guess they weren't expecting any guests that night as the room we were sent to (103) was FREEZING. Still, no problem, we turned the heat on. Immediately we were engulfed in some sort of burny chemical smell. We decided it must be dust burning off and went out to eat. When we came back the smell was just as bad, and after a couple of minutes my eyes began streaming from whatever was in the air, and wouldn't stop.
We decided to turn the heat off, as I got scared, and so spent the night trying to sleep in a freezing room. The bathroom was a mess, wallpaper falling off the walls, rather gross looking toilet, towels the size of postage stamps and the consistency of sandpaper.
I'm not sure if the tv/fridge/microwave worked and/or were clean, as we slept as much as we could and then got out as fast as we could. We couldn't talk to anyone about it the next day, as when we went to return our key there was no-one there. After 5 minutes of ringing the bell we gave up and put the key back in our room.
We can laugh about it now, but it wasn't a fun experience, and there are definitely nicer motels to stay in. Like the other reviews said, take a picture, but don't stay there.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LiliPinkiePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stayed in the Lincoln Motel in September 2009 while traveling Route 66. We arrived late in Chandler and did not have a lot of options to find a place sleep. We chose the Lincoln Motel because of its history and because it looked clean from the outside. What a mistake...

The owners were not friendly at all, but we were tired and did not mind too much.

Another review here states that room 107 was filthy, well, room 103 was not much better. The room was terrible: filthy, rundown, the fridge was sticky and made a lot of noise, airco was even worse, the bed had stains all over and smelled awful, as did the bed linnen. We went to the supermarket to buy some pillows, their pillows have obviously not been washed for years... As for the bath room, we decided to just not use it: mould on the walls, rusty water taps, awfully dirty toilet seat,...

We did not sleep at all and left early. Fortunately, our next hotel in Oklahoma City was much better. This way, we could catch up some sleep and take a nice shower to rub of the dirt from the Lincoln Motel.

We stayed in other historic motels on Route 66, and all of them were clean and cheap. This one was just cheap. If you are traveling on Route 66, do not bother to sleep here, the history is gone. Just take a picture of the neon sign and look for a better motel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank merluza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This is a roadside "motor court" as my father and grandfather described them. Two rooms per building - park right outside. No frills - rest your head and rest your vehicle - exactly what motor courts were back then. I'd recommend staying here if on a Route 66 excursion. Only issue we had was the room was very musty smelling, seemingly due to a pretty old air conditioner. (But the a/c did work very well) Still, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66traveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We were doing Route 66 end to end, and the Lincoln is one of the "historic" motels along the route so we chose to give it a try. It was rather late when we got there, and we just needed to get some rest.

The room (#107) was terrible and filthy. There was some sort of gunk on all the baseboards, electrical wiring STAPLED to the wall, the beds had a weird lean to them. Looking at the light reflecting off the walls, you could see where something had been spilled/splashed on them and never cleaned off. The fridge/microwave were covered in greasy fingerprints and god knows what other funk. The bathroom... hooboy. Now we stay in a lot of old "mom-n-pop" motels on our travels, so we're used to "old and tired" places. That's OK, that's expected. This bathroom was a complete mess and looked like housekeeping never lifted a finger in there other than to change the toilet paper. The cup holder was so dirty that I was able to write an "X" on the top of it with my finger. The shower was moldy and the tub filthy, and my wife spent 45 minutes getting it clean enough to use the next morning. Towels were thin as paper, rough as sand. It saddens me to see a part of the Mother Road kept in such a poor manner. I will never stay there again, nor will I recommend it to anyone. Take a photo as you go by, but don't waste your money here. I discussed the problems with the management in the morning, but either it was the language barrier or he just didn't care, nothing was done, no partial refund offered.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

When you are driving Route 66 you have to stay in motels like these. Basic and dated, but a perfectly good and classic motor court motel and not one of the souless chain hotels. There was a bit of mold on the ceiling of the shower, but it did not harm us.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagoehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
19.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cushing Inn & Suites
12.2 mi away
Cattle Country Lodge
Cattle Country Lodge
#1 of 3 in Stroud
141 reviews
24.0 mi away
No photo provided
Drumright Inn & Lodge
#1 of 2 in Drumright
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Motel

Property: Lincoln Motel
Address: 740 East 1st Street, Chandler, OK 74834-2444
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Chandler
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lincoln Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lincoln Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing