We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Quirky nostalgia

Take time go in the shop and speak to them. Find out the history. Don’t just click and run. Buy a... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
BattyJessie
,
Royton, United Kingdom
via mobile
It's a whale!

It's a must on route 66. It's quirky and a nice photo opportunity. We liked it. There are some... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Ioannis N
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 416 reviews
  
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
182
133
84
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
182
133
84
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop roadside attraction route icon anniversary gift back in the day driving route fun stop photo opportunity stretch your legs picnic area fun attraction swimming hole worth a stop donation box the mother road road side in great shape
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Take time go in the shop and speak to them. Find out the history. Don’t just click and run.
Buy a card or a soda. Sign the visitors book and mark the map.
We chatted to the lady in the shop who is local and used to use the lagoon when it was a local swimming attraction. She told us about how it is now owned by one family who do not want to drain the lagoon and make it useable again. The whale upkeep is down to fundraising and volunteers. I’m glad we went.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BattyJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you love Route 66 or vintage road trip stops this place is for you! The lady working there was very friendly and informative. We will definitely be stopping by again with our kiddos.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 660alig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called in along Route 66 and it's one of my favourite stops, the Blue Whale, although really old, is in such a good condition.

There is also a small gift shop on site with a lovely lady called Angela inside, we chatted with her for ages and she told us all about the old history.

Thank you for your time Angela.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank TheNatster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's a must on route 66. It's quirky and a nice photo opportunity. We liked it. There are some tables to enjoy your refreshment as well. The story behind it is lovely too.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Ioannis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Took our 3 year old grandson for his first trip to the Blue Whale in Catoosa, OK. This is Route 66 landmark that is need of repair and I believe there are fundraisers going to do just that. In 5 minutes we met people from Washington State. California, and Dublin, Ireland, all driving historic Route 66. The Blue Whale is a must stop for it's eclectic value alone. There is a small gift shop with all sorts of nick-nacks, coffee mugs, shot glasses, etc. Swimming is not allowed, but you can fish & release.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews