We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Whale of Catoosa”

Blue Whale of Catoosa
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Catoosa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blue Whale of Catoosa”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We enjoy making stops along Route 66. The Blue Whal roadside attraction was one of those stops. The Blue Whale was made as an anniversary present to a man's wife. People used to swim in the pond there, but nowadays you wouldn't want to go in the water. It does have picnic tables making it a good place to stop and have lunch. Money is currently being raised to restore it to it's former beauty along with the animal Ark. It's part of the Route 66 history and a place to mark off historic places as you travel the Mother Road.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank susan6190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    86
    59
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not sure what to say!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have actually been flying Route 66, and the Blue Whale was on our list of attractions "to see." We flew privately into Harvey Young Airport, and Darryl, a nice man who happened to be at the airport, told us not to waste our time. He said it was dirty, trashy, and the thousands of visitors have managed to take the beauty from it. After just having seen the same thing with Cadillac Ranch in Amarillo, we took his advice. We did however fly over the whale. I don't think we missed much.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Historic route 66 spot”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I love hitting up route 66 places like this. It's really old,kind of tacky, and great for pictures. It used to be an old swimming hole, but you wouldn't want to go in the water now. It's on a pretty road, so if your driving by anyway, stop by and have lunch and read the history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BostonBabeBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Idiot Abroad”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Finally got to see the Blue Whale featured in an Idiot Abroad. Love these quirky Historic Route 66 attractions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mylittleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just a cool little roadside attraction.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I don't know what else to say. There's not a lot to do here when it's not swimming season, but the blue whale is a cool, quirky little landmark that's fun to climb around on!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank thedivahrrrself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Whale of Catoosa also viewed

 

Been to Blue Whale of Catoosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing