We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly an average KOA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk City / Clinton KOA
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a reasonably compact, slightly shabby, RV camp adjacent to the I44 and on the old Route 66. Pitches are gravel separated by grass and most have good to reasonable shade. Our pitch had cable TV (enough channels to keep us occupied) as well as all services. WIFI was very patchy (the signal kept dropping) and slow. Check in was easy and welcoming and they changed our pitch at our request when one of our cables was not long enough for the site configuration (and also because we did not wish to have a spot adjacent to the swimming pool). The toilets are clean and in good order, washing is around $3, the cost of propane refills is a little on the high side, there is some noise from the adjacent interstate but not enough to cause a problem. Site drainage is good (we had a major thunderstorm and it all drained away very quickly). All in all, a just about average KOA with no issues which should put you off staying here.

Room Tip: Sites furthest back have less noise but the wifi signal is weaker
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Elk City / Clinton KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 48 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for one night in the Deluxe Cabin. The cabin was clean, the shower was spotless, and the air conditioning worked well, as did the TV and Wifi. We had our grandchildren with us, and they enjoyed the playground. Some of the equipment was installed before current safety standards, and parents should definitely supervise young children on the older playground equipment. The breakfast was okay but a bit pricey for the quality. The managers were helpful and friendly, and when I mentioned some minor maintenance issues, they thanked me and wrote them down to be taken care of. As another reviewer noted, there is a nice dog park and the main restrooms/showers are very clean. This is a no-frills place to stay--clean and adequate for a camping type of experience.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Cabin has a small bathroom with a shower.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Right off I-40 and convenient. The road in front of the KOA is part of route 66. The bathrooms were clean, but the codes for the bathroom didn't work all the time. No water at the kabin sites. Brand new ac in Kabin 5 and it worked great!

Room Tip: If you choose a kabin, kabin 5 has a brand new ac and it worked great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proudteacher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights, and even though we were next to I 40 the noise never bothered us a bit They have a nice dog park which is between the two areas of campers. The restrooms were very clean. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The cabins are WAY overpriced. The "deluxe" cabin has no more than a bed and bathroom. While the shower was clean, the floor looked as if hasn't been cleaned in months. We had to sweep out all 3 AND The Family Rec Room, which was absolutely filthy and took us 4 hours to clean. The staff was EXTREMELY RUDE throughout our entire stay, though we paid $700 to stay in these conditions. The WiFi does NOT work even with the password and were told to connect to a SECURED wifi without the password and it would work fine. I have always had great experience with KOA sites, but would NOT recommend this KOA to anyone. Travel a little farther east to the Cherokee post KOA.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angyl_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here overnight and was pleasantly surprised with clean restrooms and helpful staff, can recommend it for an overnight stay. As previous writers have said the wind blows here so be prepared.Bit of traffic noise during the night but it is next to the freeway so to be expected.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After driving across north Texas, it was wonderful to find a shady spot with trees. The man behind the counter was friendly and smiling, the restroom was clean, and the park was well kept. It is windy in Oklahoma, and there was a burn ban in effect, so no outdoor fires, and the pool was not open while I was there, but overall I really liked this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk City / Clinton KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk City / Clinton KOA

Address: I-40, Exit 50 Clinton Lake, Canute, OK 73626
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Canute
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Canute
Price Range: $18 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing