We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation and amazing location and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bwthyn Pen y Fan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Merthyr Vale, Merthyr Tydfil County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Japanese first
Any
English first
Taffwheel...
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation and amazing location and views to die for”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We arrived for the holiday and were greeted with a fantastic e mail and also the welcome pack on arrival included a bottle of wine and some great Welsh cakes, tea and coffee and squashes.
The cottage was such a nice place with a lovely traditional theme, the old wooden doors were stunning. We were a family of 4 visiting from Scotland to see some family from Wales. This was such a lovely location where we could see Pen Y Fan from the back garden. We took our dog with us and he had a ball the back garden led right onto the mountains where we could walk for hours.
Jane the owner was such a lovely person who would do anything for you. I cannot say enough good about this cottage and the owner. Even the neighbors were amazing and helpful and friendly.

We would definitely recommend this cottage as its such a great location and with the Brecon Beacons only 20 minutes and in the heart of the valleys.

Also a lovely place to visit where you can pay your respects for the poor children of 1966 that perished in the Aberfan disaster.

Thank you again Jane for a lovely week.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feeling
Liked least: Nothing i can think of
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone P
2 reviews
“Superb!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a weekend break in the half term holidays. Great place to stay and a lovely cottage. The rooms were very spacious with amble room to relax and chill with friends. We had the opportunity of using the gardens and had a BBQ.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_pineap...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Welsh welcome at this traditional miners cottage set in the heart of the south Wales valleys. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a long weekend in August. The cottage is delightful, a home from home. Everything you could think of was provided. Lovely welcome pack on arrival and lots of information on the local area and things to do. We would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hirosuzuk...
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2019 for a stay in August 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destinati...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2019 for a stay in August 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ema76Vare...
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Thank you Ema for a 5 star report, that is very kind and appreciated .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing