We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing holiday again at this house”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kerr Serign, West Coast Division

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
colintheg...
worthing sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday again at this house”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here last year and enjoyed it just as much this year. The house is really lovely and so clean . Every thing you need is in the house. We liked sitting on the balcony for are evening drink and speaking to all the locals around the compound before we went out. Every morning went to the local shop which is 10 yards away to get are bread in the morning which was still hot and cost just 7 dalleses about 20p. A bit of a walk to the beach but if you have a good taxi driver like we have and used him for 5 years now it doesn't cost much about £1.50 but if you want to walk you are safe to do so.Anna was there to greet us and any problems were solved strait away but there wasn't any . We love it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
And we love having you as much as you do visiting.
It was great to be able to welcome you in person.
All the best till next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibi861
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best self catering house near Senegambia”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It is the second time I stay here and I will try to book this place again next time i go to gambia. Lot's of space with a modern interior. Thank you Anna for your help.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2017
As always you are a joy to have as one of our many frequent guests, and we will look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Warm Regards
Leo and Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2016
It has been our pleasure to have you and we are happy you loved the house and had a great stay.
We thank you for that small feedback, every litte detail counts so we will make sure to have a look at that and bring in a new one.
We will look forward to your next visit, until then have a Merry christmas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mr Allen...
2 reviews
“Nice Comfortable stay in a lovely location”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I have recently had the pleasure of renting Anna and Leos Beautiful House in Kerr Serign.

The House is very comfortable with 3 bedrooms, Two of which are downstairs one with on suite bathroom and both share the downstairs floor layout with a very spacious well equipped kitchen - refrigerator, electric cooker/ oven, a microwave,toaster, kettle a wide selection of cutlery,plates cups, glasses and cooking utensils pots and pans etc. A nice sized comfortable living room with nice furniture and satellite T.V there's also a small room off of the kitchen which is like a storage/ ironing room. Upstairs is another large bedroom also with on suit bathroom and a nice sized Balcony/Veranda. The whole house is surrounded by a nice size courtyard in a self contained compound there is also a small outside building within courtyard witch contains a gas cooker and sink.
The whole house feels very secure and safe as there are plenty of locks on all room doors and extra security gates between main front door and balcony. It's also worth mentioning that a security guard/night watch man comes on duty around 7pm - 7am and stays outside in the court yard guarding over the property. It was a bit of a surprise to me at first about the watchman but it makes perfect sense and gives that extra piece of mind. The watch man himself is a very nice man who although does't seem to speak much English is always friendly with a big smile and thumbs up. He doesn't disturb guests in the slightest just carries out his duties.
The location of house is also good it has a real away from usual tourist location feel about it and at the same time not being too far from all the usual tourist stuff. I would usually go to one of the main hotels and get a day pool pass for 200 dalasi and then retreat back to this beautiful house in the evenings. The locals in the area make you feel very welcome they are all so friendly and genuinely nice people.
The owners of the house where great with good communications from start off booking even arranging for a taxi to meet me from the Airport on my arrival. The taxi driver Amoudou that picked me up lives just next door from the property and is a very nice friendly family man. I took his number and used him a number of times throughout my stay even having him take me to airport for my return home. I met his lovely family and now consider them friends. The cleaning lady Juliana and her assistant were also such lovely and friendly ladys. Juiliana took time to explain how everything in house works like how to switch the electricity too solar e.t.c and went out of her way to help to adjust Satalite dish to recieve channels that I like - BBC World News, CNN etc.
All in all a great stay in a great house and wonderful service from Anna/Leos workers/friends. Will definitely stay again in the future and many Thanks to Anna and Leo for providing such wonderful accommodation at such a reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Solar Electricity provided almost continuous electricity. Which can be a rarity in The Gambia.
Liked least: Although not major probs The main Gates lock could be a bit tricky sometimes. No T.V in main bedroom.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
You were great guest and a pleasure to host.
Thank you for that visual review.
Just received your new booking request.
You are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe C
1 review
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

My and my fella stayed her for a month in September and we absolutely loved it! The house is so nice and in a great location! The cleaners are really nice and if we ever need anything then things always get sorted, can't wait to come back next month, well done for having such a lovely house! Would definitely recommend it to other people ✈️

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thank you for those kind words Chloe. Always want you to feel at home away from home.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your upcoming visit.

Warm Regards
Leo/Anna M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A unique, wonderful and very African experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Most visitors to The Gambia stay in one of the hotels and spend their time sitting on the beach or by the pool. The only locals they meet are waiters and reception staff or the various other people who hang around the tourist areas trying various approaches to get your money. If that’s the holiday you want, fine, but you will see nothing of Africa, its people or their way of life. There are a few apartment blocks away from the tourist centre, but for the same price as a poky one-bed place (and a fraction of the cost of a mid-range hotel room) you can rent this lovely three-bedroom modern house, with all the conveniences you enjoy back home, and live right in the middle of my favourite Gambian village, Kerr Serign. Too good to be true? – it almost is and Anna and Leo are great hosts. Neither of them was in Gambia when I was staying, but they took trouble to set things up just right for my stay and an email to Leo gets any problem sorted quickly.

Other reviewers have said how well-equipped the house is, with a full kitchen, big TV, comfortable beds, and a solar power system to get you through the frequent blackouts. There’s also fast internet now (unusual in Gambia) but you have to pay extra for it. I want to concentrate on the amazing location. You occupy just another compound in the village, with genuine friendly local people for your neighbours. You will see the word ‘quiet’ in the description and it’s true that you will rarely hear a car go by. But an African village is not a quiet place. People stop on the streets to talk and rarely whisper, children shout as they play, babies cry, dogs bark, chickens and goats make their noises and the beautiful local bird-life has its say too. Someone is beating drums. Someone else is playing music. You sit on your balcony and gorgeously-robed women walk by with huge burdens on their heads or babies on their hips or both. Iridescent sunbirds or bright yellow weavers flit down to your magnificent bougainvillea hedge. Plantain eaters and hornbills squawk in the tops of laden mango trees. Vultures, buzzards and pied crows circle high overhead. If you’re looking for a silent rural idyll, this is not the place for you. If you want to experience the energy and excitement of a modern African village and its smiling welcoming people, you won’t find a better place to stay.

It’s also perfect for trying genuine African food. A woman right outside your gate cooks and sells the best fish pies (think samosa) in Gambia for a few pence. Another, just along the road, fries fresh fish, more delicious than you’ll find in any restaurant. Binta’s tiny local restaurant, not five minutes walk away, sells rice with the sauce of the day from around 14.00 – perfect to take away and eat that evening on your veranda. Another even closer place does delicious grilled chicken from about 19.30 and a small stall on the highway sells meat pasties and sometimes chicken afra. Or if you want international food, one of the cheaper expat restaurants, Fredy’s, is just around the corner.

The downside – there’s hardly anything. If you want a big choice of tourist restaurants and other nightlife, Senegambia Strip, the country’s foremost entertainment centre, is only 20 minutes walk away, but this is partly along unlit roads, so bring a good torch – or you can always take a taxi. The one ‘bad’ noise you get here comes from an alfresco car workshop just across the road, where a fair bit of panel beating can go on anytime during daylight hours. It’s usually quiet at night and in the early morning though.

My tip: go to buy palm wine with the friendly taxi driver who lives next door. Amadou knows where the tappers hang out and he will take you there for a couple of hundred dalasi and help you buy this unique (slightly) alcoholic drink for around €1/litre. It’s the delicious living sap of the coconut palm and natural fermentation provides some protection against bugs but if you have a weak stomach, drink with caution.

All in all, this place is highly recommended – a luxurious but affordable and absolutely genuine African experience, which you’ll go a very long way to beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury combined with the African village setting - unique!
Liked least: Noise from the car workshop
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2016
Simly a perfect visual descrition catching the sould of the area and its surroundings. You encompassed the essence of Kerr Sering.
Thank you for being a great guest and for your feedback. It was my pleasure to be on call to assist you when needed.
Thank you and all the best for now.
Leo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colintheg...
worthing sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We rented this house out and was amazed how beautiful it was every thing about the house was 1st class.
Was greeted by Anna and what a lovely lady
The house has a balcony upstairs and you could see and speak to all the locals as just of the beteen track a bit but a 10 minute walk to the senagabia strip for the night life and restaurants the locals made us felt very welcome and you didn't have any fear of walking out at any time day or night .
It was lovely watching the kids play in the street and every evening the ladys selling there meals on the street corners.
Went to the local shop and brought french sticks they call them bread rolls 3 for about 50p english or 21dalas they were huge and made them up for the beach for our lunch.
Plenty of super markets along the main road so just get a yellow and green taxi and they will take you there.
If you like to relax and enjoy the gambia sunshine this is the place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house and locatin
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2016
Thank you ever so much.
We are happy you got to experience the charm and beauty of its amazing surroundings and local friendly neigbourhood while lapping up Gambia ever present sunshine. You were a joy to have as guests and we will be looking forward to your upcoming revisit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing