We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Head

Queens Head
Reserve with OpenTable
Queens Head is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This restaurant it a real gem..Food & Service delivered 'how it should be'...

I have quite a lot of friends that are 'fussy eaters' so choosing restaurants to take them to is very hard if not impossible but fear not this restaurant ticks all the boxes.

I have eaten here many many times and not once have i been disapointed. The food is 5 star level and so too the service. Nothing is too much trouble, a friend of mine doesn't like peas so he asked for baked beans with his steak - no problem whatsoever..it's the little things that make all the difference i find and this place pays attention to what the customer needs.

The decor is great, the loo's are fantastic and clean too (i do enjoy a good toilet)..

I have even attended a New Years Eve party here and what a great night, superb atmosphere and friendly people.

Book your table soon and enjoy a little piece of perfection.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    37
    6
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to eat and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lunch and dinner was excellent, food was very tasty, compliments to the Chef.

The service was outstanding. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

The place is very cosy.

Will definitely visit this place again. ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoannaAdam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
570 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Good sized and friendly village pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

A good sized, traditional pub towards one end of the High Street, it consists of a restaurant area at the rear and a bar at the front. Style wise it’s a bit of a mixture of traditional and contemporary, and some parts have clearly been refurbished fairly recently. Staff all seemed friendly and helpful.

The main bar at the front is an L-shape room divided in to two halves. The main bar area along the front has red quarry tiles on the floor and a couple of beams on the sagging ceiling. At one end there was a large brick fire-place with a log fire blazing away and a piano in the corner at the other end. Around the corner is a much more contemporary bar which is perhaps more intended for dining. This consists of a wood strip floor, black wooden posts in the walls and a predominantly cream colour scheme with one wall painted in a contrasting maroon. I didn’t investigate the restaurant at the rear, but this too looked to be quite contemporary with a wood floor, some patterned wallpaper, a couple of leather arm chairs and a small bar counter.

Food wise the menu was very much meat focused with six of the seven main courses being meat based and offering choices such as Sirloin Steak, Duo of Pork and Rump of Lamb. If you’re vegetarian your choices appeared somewhat limited, with the one remaining main course option being fish. There was however a Cheese & Onion soufflé available from the verbal specials menu. Prices were somewhat above your normal pub grub with most of the mains being somewhere between £10 and £16, although there were a couple more options from a “2 courses for £12.50” menu. I went for the fishcakes which were rather disappointing – potato cakes would have been a far more accurate description. These were from the fixed price menu, so clearly one of the cheaper options, but then I requested just this dish from the set price menu rather than two courses and so was charged £10.95. This was way overpriced. In contrast a zesty lemon brûlée with shortbread biscuits for desert was an excellent dish; just the right combination of lemon and sweetness, with a fresh, crispy topping and soft, crumbly biscuits. On that basis I would be happy to return and try something else, but would definitely order from the a la carte menu next time.

Beers on tap were Tring’s Brock, Bombardier, Vale’s Brill and Bateman’s Autumn Fall. The solitary cider was Strongbow, unfortunately.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackth0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Whatever our cause to go, they've come up with the goods!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This pub/restaurant is so much more than a village local and the food outcompetes the other places in Wing easily in terms of fresh, quality, made to order food rather than feeling like you are on a service conveyor belt. There are really good options on the various menus, depending on when you go in, plus wonderful, fresh fish on fridays and the sunday roasts are simply mouthwatering and with that 'home cooked' feel. Our experiences have been abundant portions, yet really well-balanced flavours.

We've also held a few family events at The Queen's Head; a delightful afternoon tea party to welcome our daughter into the world, where we took over the lovely restaurant, filled it with over 50 family and friends, and had simply fabulous food, drinks and service. The buffet was gorgeous! We also had a marquee in the garden this summer and a birthday BBQ, and again, it was flawless. We remain VERY impressed with the Queen's Head and all of it's staff and are planning on seeking out another roast this Sunday! Julie & Tim Thomson

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelfishiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caylus, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good homemade food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Friendly pub with genuinely homemade food...lasagne, burger, chips, coleslaw. Classic dishes with excellent flavour. Fish looked good with wide choice on Fridays. A little pricy for pub grub...average about £10 for mains.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrHard2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Head also viewed

Mentmore, Aylesbury Vale
Wingfield, Leighton Buzzard
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing