We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fun on thelake

We rented a pontoon boat for 2 hours. We were travelling with 3 kids under 4 years old. The lake... read more

Reviewed August 2, 2020
papasmurf5069
,
Morris County, New Jersey
Great day on the lake

Beautiful lake! So much to do here! Jet skis and boat rentals! Staff is super friendly! Take a... read more

Reviewed September 11, 2020
Loreelou
,
Fort Worth, Texas
via mobile
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
36
14
6
3
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
36
14
6
3
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pontoon boat beautiful lake rental fee beavers bend labor day great customer service staff was friendly life jackets in great shape great fun tube skis jet load
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 71 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

BEWARE! Take a picture of everything the deckhand covers with you before you leave!!! Do not trust what they say. Take a picture of the boat condition and most importantly, the prop. We were naive and trusted what he said and when we returned, they added $250 in damages without even telling us or explaining until we noticed. The manager is a condescending and rude teenager. Wait for more marine business to come into Beavers Bend before renting a boat or at the very least, take pictures before you head out.

Date of experience: August 2017
5  Thank amoore1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Beavers Bend Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for making Beavers Bend Marina part of your vacation.

I’m sorry that you had the experience that you did. Our customers are our greatest asset and repeat customers are the largest share of our business.

Our boats sustain significant damage over the course of a season, all done by those individuals who rent them from us. We review the condition of the boat and the propeller before each party gets on the water. We also inspect them at the conclusion of each rental. We welcome people taking pictures of the craft they have rented. It makes our job a lot easier.

In the case of this particular boat, the propeller had been replaced four days earlier, something that needs to be done on the average only once in every several hundred rentals. The checkout form was signed by the renter and the propeller condition marked “good.” When the boat was returned, the propeller was damaged to the extent that it needed to be replaced. While it is possible for the damage to have been missed in both the previous check-in and their check-out, this seems unlikely.

Our dock hands and store staff do their best to be patient and thorough with large numbers of customers on a daily basis. Our managers are supportive of our staff while doing their best to be respectful of our customers. When there is a discrepancy between what a customer says and what is on the paperwork we have no choice but to honor what has been signed and acknowledged by both the dock hands and customer.

We want every customer to have the best experience possible with their rental. Hopefully this information will help all of our customers in this process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

Overall the experience we had on the lake was really good. There were a few things that the Marina could work on. #1 We rented boat at 10:30 so pretty early in the morning and the life jackets on the boat were soaked, and the some were stored under the center storage area and were pretty musty smelling. I mean it's 100 degrees out here, leave everything setting out to dry for the next user. #2 Our boat had no map and we were told someone was going to grab one an never showed up again.....that would have been helpful as we ended our day and couldn't find the dam dam. #3 I asked ahead of time to get a ballpark number on how much the gas would cost and the girls assured me it wouldn't be over $30 especially if we were only out for 2 hours. Well we were charged over $50. I was getting things loaded in the car so I didn't see the charge or I would have said something. I realize that it's all ballpark but these girls do this everyday so I would think they have a pretty good idea. Just thought that was weird. Overall, had a wonderful day and I would rent from them again I would just make sure they followed through on a few things first.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank 488kelseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavers Bend Ma... M, General Manager at Beavers Bend Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Thank you for your comments. The safety and satisfaction of our customers are our NUMBER 1 priorities. Even our company "motto" on our staff shirts say: "Creating Family Fun Through A Well-Trained Friendly Team". We take your satisfaction very seriously. Although I wasn't on duty yesterday I have addressed your concerns with other managers and staff. All our boats have lake maps- there are occasions when a previous customer may have taken the map off or it gets inadvertently lost. Either way you should have been provided another map of the lake. The gas issue is difficult to address. We do know (in general) what a 2 hour rental will cost in gas, but it's not always exact. Each boat is topped off upon return. Please give us another chance to prove ourselves - your safety and satisfaction is very important to Beavers Bend Marina. Thank you very much for visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

Driving down to the marina is beautiful!! We rented a pontoon boat for 4 hours. There were several teenagers working at the marina & some of them weren't very knowledgeable about the marina & for that matter not very friendly. The guy that helped us with our rental boat was very friendly & knowledgeable. The lake is beautiful & the water is very clean & clear & cold. It is the cleanest lake & Beavers Bend park is the cleanest park that I've ever seen! We had a great time!!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank 588mthacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavers Bend Ma... M, Owner at Beavers Bend Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are always trying to improve the customer experience at Beavers Bend Marina and Beavers Bend State Park. Our employees are trained daily on boat operations, park regulations, etc. Hopefully you will return to enjoy Beavers Bend Marina and Broken Bow Lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Amazing views, beautiful lake. Very large spaces for boats. Extremely clean and well maintained. Will return

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank TheresaNTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

We rented a 9 person ski boat with tube. We had originally reserved 2 hours but upon checkin decided to add another hour they were not busy that day so it was easy to add. Next time we will rent for a minimum of 4 hours. The lake is huge! We also rented a tube and had a blast with our kids (11,9,7,5).
Boat was clean and in good working condition. Staff was friendly and courteous even though it was the day after their busiest holiday ( Labor Day).

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank adeemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews