We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Peaceful Weekday Getaway"”
Review of Lakeview Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Broken Bow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeview Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broken Bow
Keller
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Peaceful Weekday Getaway"”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first time visiting the Broken Bow area, and first stay at Lakeview Lodge. We heard of the Lodge via a Groupon Deal. We paid $55 per night, which was a pleasant discount from the off-season rates of $85. The 2nd floor room accommodations consisted of 2 queen beds which accomodated my wife and I, and our teenage son. There was plenty of space for the 3 of us, though the bathroom can be quite "cozy" for two. Let's just say that you're going to take an elbow to the face if your wife is blow-drying her hair. Our balcony view of the lake was beautiful, and was even more exciting as a dozen deer were grazing "begging" from the grass below our room. We stayed a Thursday and Friday evening. Thursday was wonderfully quiet, as there were very few guests. Friday night was very busy as the Lodge filled up quickly, and the extra sounds of busy people, loud tv's, and heavy footsteps from the 3rd floor above us could easily be heard through the thin walls. I think we had a chain smoker above us, as we kept hearing the balcony sliding door opening and slamming shut. With that said, I will not be booking a stay during weekends or their busy season.
The continental breakfast was very basic, as described in other posts. We ate lunch and dinner in town. Stephen's Gap Restaurant (Informal Mom and Pop atmosphere) which is located about 5 minutes from the Lodge is adequate for an evening meal. I had the catfish (very good), my wife had a marinated steak salad (so...so), and my son had the chicken strips. Their pie is very good. As Grandma used to say..."Tastes like more". You must get some of the peanut brittle to go...yummy! The service was excellent! Note: THEY ONLY ACCEPT CASH. They do have an ATM machine right inside the door. We ate lunches at Papa Poblanos and Pizza Hut in Broken Bow, about 15 minute drive from the Lodge. Food was fine and service was quick.

Room Tip: I suggest a 3rd floor room. View is better and less foot traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    51
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
50
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

we stayed two nights, we loved the view off of our balcony (especially the sunrise) the rooms were basic just like a motel rooms but very clean and comfortable. the staff was very friendly and helpful,great resturants just back on the main highway,also great place to see the wild life and you can feed the deer that show up every evening at dusk. we will return for another get away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

stayed there for one night and will definitely return!! the rooms are large, clean and well furnished. the staff at this 16 year old state run lodge is very friendly and helpful. all rooms have a view of this beautiful lake. lots of wildlife in the area and on the lawn and boat launch ramp right below the lodge. lots of eating places nearby so visit them and enjoy. the lodge does have discounts for seniors so mention that when you call. a continental breakfast comes with the room. ENJOY

Room Tip: all rooms are good from the ground floor patios to the 2nd and 3rd foor balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here twice. The property and views are really good. Balcony rooms have better views. The trails are wonderful. They have deer roaming around all the time. The breakfast is very basic fair but it's a convenient and tasty bite in a pinch. The location is perfect for access to the state parks, damn, beavers bend, ect. The off season and discount rates are very competitive for a place with such a great balcony view.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mckinney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at the Lakeview Lodge during a 3-day trip (Sunday-Tuesday) trip to Broken Bow state park. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Since my trip was in the low-season, I did not have any problems regarding noise from the adjacent rooms but I can see how it can be a problem if you stay during high-season and the rooms adjacent to yours are booked.

I think that in general, you may have a slightly better view of the lake if you get a balcony instead of a patio view but in general, all rooms have a wonderful view of the lake. You can probably notice this by looking at the map but I think it is important to mention that the lake is on the east side so you will not be seeing susets over the lake but, if you are a morning person, the sunrise is just as beautiful. Continental breakfast is available starting 6am and the dinning room deck has the best, unobstructed view of the lake so it was wonderful that the sky cleared up enough for me to enjoy breakfast while watching the sunrise over the lake.

The continental breakfast consisted of cereal, hot coffe, juice, milk, bagels, croissants, and muffins that are prepared daily and kept in the refrigerator for you to microwave. If you are looking for freshly made eggs, bacon, sausage and pancakes you are probably going to be disappointed. Note that there is no restaurant on-site.

There is a 5 mile hiking trail across the lodge, it is divided in 3 'loops' with increasing degree of difficulty in terms of the type of terrain they cross. I hiked the beginners trail (about half a mile) and it was a nice walk that took me about 20mins in a slow, not-rushy pace. There is also a boat just downhill from the lodge entrance and I even saw some people swimming in the lake near the shore in the same area.

The Beavers Bend State Park is a short drive away. There is a lot of activities at the park (fishing, boating, canoeing, swimming, hiking) and they even have a tennis court in the park to play some points or perfect your serve surrounded by big trees and fresh air :)

If you are looking for a nice and peaceful getaway I do recommend the Lakeview Lodge. It is a great value for the money.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony would probably give you a slightly better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I really like this place and have stayed there mutliple times. The only thing keeping it from being a 5 star is lack of on-site restaurant. There is a boat ramp at the bottom of a slight hill so a good place to boat.

Room Tip: Bottom floor has patios from which you can walk out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OkArtist2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had a two night stay on the 27TH JULY 2012. Two adults & two kids .Good value for money.Staff are very friendly and helpfull.The Lakeview lodge is set in a perfect spot. The lodge has a decent breakfast. There is cereal, sausage biscuits or croissants, yogurt,juice, milk,& coffee. There is a great room set up with a spectacular view where anyone can watch tv or just hang out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Byrne842192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broken Bow
4.1 mi away
Hochatown Country Lodge
Hochatown Country Lodge
#1 of 6 in Broken Bow
123 reviews
11.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Broken Bow
11.7 mi away
HiWay Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Broken Bow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Charles Wesley Motor Lodge
Charles Wesley Motor Lodge
#5 of 6 in Broken Bow
52 reviews
19.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 5 in Idabel
75 reviews
11.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 6 in Broken Bow
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Lodge

Property: Lakeview Lodge
Address: U.S 259, Broken Bow, OK 74728-0010
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McCurtain County > Broken Bow
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broken Bow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing