We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surroundings, abundant food”
Review of Ted Cafe Escondido

Ted Cafe Escondido
Ranked #9 of 230 Restaurants in Broken Arrow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving friend and family a delicious meal in your home is deeply embedded in Mexican culture. With that in mind, Ted Curtis, our founder, set out to create a welcoming restaurant inspired by that experience. We are rooted in serving the best Mexican food, made from the freshest premium-quality ingredients, served with unsurpassed hospitality. Since the first Ted's Café Escondido restaurant opened in 1991, we have stayed true to these founding principles, without compromise. At Ted's, you are not just a customer, but our guest. We strive to make each of our guests feel welcome and special. We are passionate about continuing to prepare our fresh delicious food daily, by hand. We are dedicated to serving you with humility and heart. Our goal is to exceed your expectations on each and every visit.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“pleasant surroundings, abundant food”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very friendly waiters/waitresses were good at keeping drinks and chips filled. Food had good flavor and good selection.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    47
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Mexican restaurants!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Both me and my wife love going to Ted's for lunch or dinner. I really like their queso and salsa, she likes their Mexican vegetable relish (jalepeno's, carrots, onions). Their service is always fast and friendly. My favorite dish is their Quesilada which is an enchilada and a quesadilla, she enjoys their cheese enchiladas and corn totilla.

As long as you order off the menu you get complimentary chips, salsa, queso, and a sopapilla for dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here, right during the lunch rush period. Service was fast, friendly and did not feel rushed at all.

The entree was of a high standard, and while they ask you not to share a plate, their portions are sufficiently large that it makes it hard to finish an entire entree on your own--so we did share a 2 taco meal.

Of note is the amount of items you get on the side. Not only do you get the free chips and salsa that is considered normal at Mexican restaurants, but you also get queso/cheese dip, and they ask if you'd like some jalapeno/avocado spicy salsa. I found this particularly tasty, as I love spicy food. Finally, they offer you a complimentary sopa piaz (mexican donut) for dessert. Not only a nice touch, offering a simple and free dessert, but it was also fresh and tasty!

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_P918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service & good food.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The fajitas were fantastic! We went on a Saturday & it was pretty busy, but the staff was friendly & quick. We will go back. In the past weattended a private party & it was a great value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is without a doubt the friendliest Mexican restaurant in the Tulsa area. Everyone makes it his mission to make sure your visit is better than expected. For starters, they serve their "Set Up" which consists of chips, queaso, homemade salsa, and homemade flour tortillas. This alone is worth coming in for. The portions are large but Lite Potions are also offered. The meal is finished with complimentary homemade sopapillas. I think I'll go back for dinner tonight.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Cafe Escondido also viewed

 
 

Been to Ted Cafe Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing