We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed hard as a board”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Blackwell
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stopped here because it was right off the freeway. The hotel is dated, but they are in the process of remodeling. Our room was clean, but the bed was as hard as a board. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was OK. There is a little Mexican restaurant right next door, but don't expect to find a margarita there. It's beer only.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNMommaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience. As you noted we are in the process of improvements, including new breakfast items, new mattresses, exterior painting and landscaping. We hope that this work will increase the value for our guests.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 58 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were trying to reach Wichita, but my husband felt ill and said he needed to stop as soon as possible. We travel with our dog, so the Comfort Inn was the closest pet-friendly hotel with decent reviews. Wow, what a lousy experience. It's great that the hotel is non-smoking, but it doesn't really matter when all the smokers light up just outside the main hotel doors. One has to walk through a fog of cigarette smoke to enter the hotel.

The room was pathetic. The bedspreads were like cardboard and the furnishings were low-quality. We could hear guests in the adjacent rooms. I looked at the bathroom and opted to pass on taking a shower, not sure I would emerge cleaner.

The next morning, while standing in front of the bathroom mirror, I noticed three bugs climbing the walls of our room. We decided to avoid the breakfast. When we checked out, I quietly informed the desk clerk that there were bugs in our room, to which she casually responded, "Oh, yeah, the exterminator doesn't come until next week." Really? The real kicker is our room was $100. We had just stayed at the Comfort Suites in Buda, Tx where the accommodations were very nice and very clean and very spacious - and paid only $90. What a ripoff in Blackwell.

Don't stay here if you can possibly avoid it. Keep driving.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pilotmom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we have discussed your feedback to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. In addition, we are in the beginning stages of a series of improvements to the property, including upgraded furnishings and bedding.

If you happen to be in the area again, I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We arrived at 11 pm with no reservation after a very long day on the road. The desk clerk originally told us they had no rooms, but the manager overruled her, much to our relief. Room was comfortable and quiet and looked new or at least newly renovated. Breakfast was hot and good. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxie1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for submitting this review. I am glad we were able to find you a room, and that the room and breakfast met your expectations. I hope you do find the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This was a conveniently located hotel on our way back to Mississippi from Keystone. Room was clean, price was okay. Wifi would not work. We were only there for 8 hours to sleep. McDonalds and gas station right next door for an easy start to the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PaulaBinMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we greatly appreciate all input from our guests. We have recently taken ownership of this property and we are evaluating many areas of the hotel. Internet access is one of those issues that is high on our list to provide a better experience for our guests.
Thank you again, and hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at Comfort Inn/Blackwell, OK 8/21, after an 11-hr. day of driving on our way to AZ. We were so pleasantly surprised that on our return trip home, we stayed there again. Conveniently located just off the freeway, it is a haven for travelers and a gem in the Comfort Inn chain. Our room was very inexpensive, but provided all amenities we needed for an overnight stay. Comfy bed(s), decent TV, ample bath linens, and a very nice free breakfast, including 2 types of waffle batters, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices and coffee. There was no internet connection available when we arrived on the evening of 9/1, which we were told was a common occurrence, and our A/C went out briefly, but power was quickly restored, so no complaints there. Very good Mexican restaurant next door - sorry - forgot name, but recommend it. Definitely recommend Comfort Inn/Blackwell & look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: My husband mentioned that we needed Internet access & hotel's wi-fi was down. We were given...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marphy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This Comfort Inn is 15 years old but LC keeps it looking like brand new. We stayed two nights and had only minor concern: The A/C worked hard all night, chattering infrequently, but take into account that the outside temps were 107 by day and above 85 at night. What A/C wouldn’t work hard in that situation? Friendly staff, an extensive continental breakfast with a joyful “waitress” (for want of a better word). Just off I-35 with nearby: 4 fast-food chains, 2 large convenient stores (Shell and Conoco), a very good Mexican eatery next door and a Brahm’s Dairy (excellent regional ice cream store) across the street. Our room had typical Comfort Inn amenities and great beds! Yes, we’ll stop there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbinalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

The desk clerk was friendly and helpful upon arrival and departure. The room was of a good size. It was generally clean but there was the odd stray hair on the bedding and in the bathroom. The bed was comfy too. Aircon worked fine. One of the lightbulbs needed changing but we reported this to reception and they said they would fix it for the next people - it's a shame other customers don't report things when they don't work to benefit the next people.
Only one negative and that was that the pool didn't open until 9am so we couldn't get an early swim.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotentialVorticity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwell
0.1 mi away
Best Western Blackwell Inn
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Blackwell
27 reviews
15.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ponca City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blackwell
15.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ponca City
17.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Ponca City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1201 N 44th St, Blackwell, OK 74631-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Blackwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Blackwell
Price Range: $53 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Blackwell
Blackwell Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing