We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tex Mex”

Monterey's Tex MEX Cafe
Ranked #43 of 109 Restaurants in Bartlesville
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Tex Mex”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Even thought I am not a real Tex Mex lover, the food in this place is exceptional. You can find something for everyone. It is prepared and to the table in very good time. The help is very good and always there to help. They serve the best chips and salsa in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmpokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newalla
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

A group of 7 family members went here for lunch. Food was nothing I'd rush back for but it wasn't bad either. The service was really lacking. Took a long time to take our order, bring drinks, etc... 3 of us got a drink refill but then she rushed off. The other 4 never did get a refill. Didn't see her again til she came over, laid down the check and said to pay at the front, then rushed off again. They were not that busy so she should have been able to give better service. I wouldn't object to going again but I probably wouldn't be the one to suggest it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ducksoup1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redington Shores, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food, ok margaritas”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We ate here the evening before Thanksgiving. The food is pretty good and their carnitas were close to authentic. Chips and salsa include with the meal at no charge. Silverware and glassware appeared older and well used. This really bothers me as it can sometime be hard to tell if the cloudiness on the glasses is because they have been washed so much or not washed well. I ordered the house margarita and it came in a nice size water glass- not too much ice, but it was not cold. It tasted like it was pretty much straight mixer--no alcohol taste. I finished this one off without any affects at all and ordered a special margarita--which came in same kind of glass, not much ice, but definitely tequila in it. This was all while we waited a good 25 minutes for dinner to arrive. Our waiter was a young guy who kept apologizing about the wait. Eventually, our dinners arrived and they were good and filling as noted above.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family meeting at Monterey's TexMex”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

While in town on an overnight trip, we met with my brother and his family at Monterey's. Got a reservation for 7 in an hours notice, nice table. Service was good, fast, and hot. Served chips and sasa, no charge, but we ordered chili-con-case (was really good). They didn't automatically add 20% gratuity to the ticket. We all enjoyed the time and food. Staff was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RVMcClure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“They do a good job”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Monterey's is a good place to get some tex-mex food. You can't go wrong eating at Monterey's. I always have the Fajita and it's always good. Every time our family has a craving for mexican, we go here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey's Tex MEX Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Monterey's Tex MEX Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing