We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An insiders review”
Review of Indian Coffee Company - CLOSED

Indian Coffee Company
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An insiders review”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

From the begining I will tell you that I was on the opening crew of this eclcetic coffee house. The atmosphere when you walk in is one of genuine home comfort with an emphasis on local Indian culture. The owners Mark and Kelly Spencer have outdone themselves in making you feel like you are family there. The staff is treated with respect and it shows in thier food and coffee. I have moved on and I miss them greatly .
The food is anything but ordinary , from the Indian fried bread topped with maple ad bacon fr breakfast to the artisian wood fired pizzas, your taste buds will delight in every flavor sensation they have to offer. If your adventerous , try the Mexican French Toast, with ark chocolate and mexican spices , it will be the best french toast you have ever had !
Prices are not dollar value menu prices. You pay for what you get , but the value is there for great food and atmosphere. The smiles and laughte are contagious there and the staff will make your day.
Chef David, The Wandering Chef

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Both my sandwich I had for lunch and the scone I got for breakfast the next day were delicious. The prices seem high to me. It's hard to get a table here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JackSprat919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A very good place for breakfast or just coffee.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Skipped the so called breakfast at the Price Inn and had a very good coffee and a reakfast at the Indian.
Location is right on Frank Phillips Blvd accross from the Phillips office buildins.
Resonably priced.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rp-yp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere - breakfast is so-so.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had been wanting to try breakfast - so we went on a rainy morning. Service was pleasant enough. I had a bacon omelette and SO had veggie omelette. We really like the atmosphere. However, the diced potatoes were decent, although overly peppered. The bread was just OK - SO had marbled rye, which seemed store bought but probably wasn't, and I had sour dough, which seemed a lot like white. Once again, OK, but not bursting with the flavor we have come expect. (We buy our bread from a lady at the Saturday Farmer's Market who fresh bakes it.) The omelettes seemed to be a bit on the lacking rich flavor side as we tried each other's. But maybe it's because we've been spoiled by SO's home-made omelettes who mixes a little milk into the egg for the omelette and uses a bit of butter in cooking.

Or maybe part of that problem may have been seasoning - after the pepper on the potatoes, our taste buds may have been bit off. Or maybe it's because we didn't get enough salt on the omelettes. They use flake salt - good - but they have it in a regular salt shaker with tiny holes so hardly any comes out on each shake - bad. Also, rather than butter, the plate came with "whipped spread" and no jam or jelly. The whipped spread had little flavor and we had to go back to the counter to ask for jam. The good part of the jam is that they don't use prepared packets, but instead prepare it in individual servings. The bad part is that we should have been asked what jam we wanted when we ordered and not have to travel back to the counter. (Maybe they have real butter there as well - we will have to check next time.)

Lest it sounds like I'm complaining about everything, I really like the place and want to like it more. It has an atmosphere that you can't find within 50 miles. The staff is friendly and service is good. We were just disappointed that the breakfast did not live up to the promise. We will go back in a few weeks and try again - I really want to give them a higher rating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This place just opened and is great! It has great atmosphere and was very well done. They have a brick oven for pizza and the food was very good. The pizza needed just a touch of seasoning, but overall was very good! The crust was nice and the crisp from the brick oven great! We had a blended Truly Latte and it was fantastic!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhackler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Coffee Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing