We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BREAKFAST!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zoar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Zoar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our one-night stay here. It was very comfortable, the location is very convenient (right in the heart of historic Zoar), the hosts were gracious, and the breakfast was phenomenal! Yoghurt, granola, & berry parfait, homemade bread, and marscapone- filled French toast with real maple syrup served with artisanal pumpkin sausage.
We also went on the ghost tour and they were very helpful with making sure we got to the right place.
Highly recommended!
Only caveats: They do use scented candles, so if you are sensitive to that, be warned. Also, their pillows are a bit thick and stiff.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikkitikitavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoarschoolinn, Owner at Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you!
We hope to see you again one day.
We appreciate you input on the pillows. Joe and I have an extra pillow or two in all the rooms for just such a problem. Some soft and some are firm.
There are times when we've had people who are sensitive to certain aromas, candles and oils and we completely understand and will try to meet any guest requests.
When we do our guest intake we always ask if anyone has any allergies in the hopes of hearing our new friends needs.
The number one objective is our guests comfort and we are always happy to hear if there's an issue. When you're here or after. Though we prefer to take care of business during your stay so you'll be completely happy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 136 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a wonderful little inn this is! Spotless accommodations, outstanding friendliness, and a breakfast that satisfies the soul, excellent cuisine and thought provoking conversation. Every detail is thoughtfully executed. The room I had, Cousin Jason's Quarters, was small, and quaint in some respects, but very comfortable for one person. The only addition I would like to see is a small table in the ante room for morning coffee. The "shoes off" policy makes for a very quiet inn without any clomping about on their beautiful floors. Gayle and Joe are "people persons" that rate high in my book.

Room Tip: On my next visit, which hopefully will be soon, the room on the north side, Lea's Suite, will be...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrmjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoarschoolinn, Owner at Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you! We'll look for a small table to put in Jason's Quarters hallway as soon as possible. Good idea! We love input. We've added a shelve, hooks, stools and dvd's with guests comments. We're so sorry the alley was busy when you were here. It's usually very quiet but there was some activity on 2nd and 212 that caused some traffic to use the alley. We hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband & I really enjoy going to B&Bs to unwind and relax, but we are both pretty picky. I want a friendly, pretty place with good food & something close by to do. My husband wants a large , soaking (preferably a bubbler) tub, a very comfortable bed, and safe off street parking. The Zoar Inn School House B&B is perfect for us. It is beautifully decorated, cozy and spotless. Joe & Gayle have covered all our needs plus somethings we didn't know that would help us to relax. A little step stool helped me to reach the high bed, the great smelling candles were enjoyable while soaking in the bubbler tub, and then a yummy treat of cookies for that bedtime snack. Joe & Gayle are the perfect hosts with their warm friendliness and flexibility. The Zoar School House B&B is #1 with us. Can't wait for our next visit !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMcDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth1999, Owner at Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

The stool comment was a tip off as to who you are! Since I'm in the same position as you I can fully understand the need for a "step up". You and Herman are both delightful. See you in a few months! Thank you for your comments Joe and I appreciate them very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What an awesome B&B! My husband and I have stayed at over 50 small Inn's and B&B's over the past 20 years.This was in our top 3 for over all experience. We were greeted by Gayle with a warm welcome. Jim showed us where the delicious treats were hidden and any kind of coffee/tea you can imagine. Since it was our 15 year anniversary they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine and warm cookies. The refridgerator in our room had pop and water. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was very spacious and cozy. The breakfast served was delicious and was plated beautifully. We loved talking with Gayle and Jim and would go back in a heartbeat, definitely worth the time and money!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lvt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth1999, Owner at Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Keep in touch about your future business venture! We wish you well and hope to hear from you. Thank you for the wonderful review. With 50 B&B's in your visiting history we appreciate your high praise very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in the Loft for our 15th anniversary and from the personalized welcome on the chalkboard to the bottle of local wine in the room, Gayle and Joe went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. The house is spotless and full of charm. We have stayed at about 50 B&Bs and Gayle's breakfast is in the top 3. From the locally made gourmet sausages to the fabulous croissants, each of the three courses of the breakfast was a meal in itself and a delight to be savored. Gayle and Joe do not cut any corners and you can expect a relaxing getaway filled with charm and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth1999, Owner at Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you! Since you and your wife are experienced B&B people your compliments mean a great deal. We hope you plan another trip to stay with us once day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a delight to the senses. Joe and Gail are topnotch Inn Keepers. Even the cute dog was friendly! King-size four poster bed, color TV, Jacuzzi, plush towels, period furniture all tastefully coordinated and decorated to create a warm and pleasing atmosphere.
A gourmet breakfast served on a screened-in porch was a great start to the day. Luxury and history blended prepared just right.

Room Tip: The upstairs room facing the street. Jacuzzi included.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefferson299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoarschoolinn, Owner at Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

It's a shame you couldn't take another day off to extend your stay. "Next Time" We look forward to seeing you again one day! The charm of owning a bed and breakfast for the owners are the friendly interesting guests. You certainly are one of them. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Zoar School Inn with Gayle and Joe. They are the perfect hosts who went out of their way to provide assistance whenever possible. We have stayed at other B&Bs, but none met the high standards set by our hosts. Gayle is a gourmet cook and her breakfasts are not only delicious, but also unique. I am a Civil War author and we were there for the Civil War re-enactment and to promote my books. Joe helped us to unload the boxes of books and to set up our display and Gayle assisted in carrying our period clothing (my hoop skirts and my husbands military boots) to our room. The entire experience was a step back in time, but with all the conveniences one would expect. The Inn is beautiful, the atmosphere is serene, and we look forward to our next visit. Lois L

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoarschoolinn, Owner at Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

You are both such interesting and enjoyable people we love having you here. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zoar
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 1 in Bolivar
60 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Strasburg Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
321 reviews
19.7 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
285 reviews
21.1 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#1 of 11 in Berlin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 160 Third Street, Box 509, Zoar, OH 44697
Location: United States > Ohio > Zoar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Zoar
Price Range: $109 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zoar School Inn B&B Inn circa 1836. The first school of Zoar. Once a one floor 2 room schoolhouse that was changed into a family dwelling in 1868. Four romantic private bedrooms with bath en-suite have been decorated the ultimate in sheer pleasure and comfort. 3 Suites have fireplaces, double Jacuzzi tubs, king/queen beds. All rooms have refrigerators, independent heat and air controls, ceiling fans and more. 24 Hour coffee, tea, cocoa and small treat area conveniently located on the second floor. Soda and spring water supplied in each rooms refrigerator. A full 2 course gourmet breakfast served each morning. Evening snack and bed turn down. Innkeepers Joe and Gayle invite you to stay at our B&B where you're invited to step back in time to enjoy charm of the historic village of Zoar. Warm hospitality awaits you. Enjoy relaxing on our screened in back porch and enjoy rocking on our rockers, reading, morning breakfast or simply relaxing and enjoying the grounds. Call for your reservation today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zoar School Inn Bed And Breakfast Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing