We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zoar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Zoar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Joe and Gayle are the best hosts! Gayle is quite the gourmand, breakfast was awesome. This is a neat retreat in a cozy historic town. Lots of history here and along the tow path trail. Add great biking, hiking, golf and the Canal Tavern of Zoar and you have a complete weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth1999, Owner at Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for being another exceptional guest! We appreciate every guest review. There's nothing that makes us happier than hearing all of our endeavors to create a welcoming comfortable stay for you were successful. We hope plan another trip again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 135 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a 5 star retreat in the most charming village in Ohio. I highly recommend the Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast for a staycation. Gayle's food is akin to a luxury hotel in NYC, Chicago or LA. She even personalized for a guest that required gluton free meals. This is unheard of at a hotel or B&B. The back porch is so comfortable and beautiful that the pictures can not capture the glow of the setting sun. The rooms epitomize luxury, while remaining authentic to the historic charm. Gas fireplace, claw foot tubs, four poster beds, high-end 1,000+ count sheets, perfectly made beds and carpeting fit for the White House. (Literally the carpeting is so plush you could sleep on it.) All of this and the charm of the hosts and home is the best feature of the B&B- even exceeding all the other features I raved about. Do not consider staying anywhere else in Tuscarawas County. No hotel or B&B even comes close.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the tub, shower and fireplace.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth1999, Owner at Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We appreciate and value all of our guests. Thank you for your kind words. Our goal is for every guest to leave feeling rested, pampered and "like they had a weeks vacation". Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

First of all Gayle and Joe are great hosts. They have done an excellent job of restoring the home, retaining it's history and old world charm while adding modern conveniences like large whirlpool tubs, and a Keurig coffee maker in the bedroom hallway. They added a large screened in porch to the back of the house, which looks like it was part of the original structure. This was a great place to hang out and talk over a glass a wine in the evening as it looks out over the beautiful gardens in their backyard. Gayle even supplied the wine glasses. Most of the bedrooms are quite spacious for a B&B in an older home and all were very clean and fresh, with comfortable beds. The house is conveniently located in downtown Zoar. The town is very well preserved. You really feel like you have stepped back in time. Gayle and Joe took the time to tell us where to go and what to see in Zoar. They recommended the Italian restaurant (part of the old Zoar Tavern), and it had both a fun waitress and awesome food! Speaking of awesome food, Gayle welcomed us with some cookies based on her Grandmother's old German recipe, which were delicious. Then for breakfast the next morning, Gayle and Joe prepared us an amazing feast of fresh berry yogurt parfaits, almond crusted croissants and a savory quiche with herbs from Gayle's garden. We has to walk around Zoar afterwards to walk off the big breakfast. Finally, we have to mention, their sweet little dog. He would greet you at the back door with welcome home wag!

Room Tip: We stayed in Lea's suite, which is very spacious. The large whirlpool tub is flanked by windows...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This was our Fourth stay at the Zoar School B&B. We have nothing to add to our previous superlatives, except that visitors should note that the Inn is only 20 minutes from the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton and also close to Amish shopping, etc. The School is so quiet and clean; tastefully appointed and friendly. Gayle and Joe have a knack about letting guests feel at home without being nosey and bossey. And the breakfasts--wow!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the zoar school Inn for a girls get away. The aroma of breakfast cooking was a delight! The gardens and screened in porch was such a tranquil setting. The colors of fall were everywhere. I highly recommend this bed & breakfast!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimjpc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our aniversary weekend at zoar school inn. This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. Our expectations were exceeded! Upon arrival we noticed a bottle of wine, cheese, fruit and crackers. This was a gift from my parents that the hosts set up beautifully. The town is nice and relaxing with plenty to do. We went canoeing, and on hikes around the town. Gayle and Joe made recommendations for food and the restaurant was excellent. Also, the breakfast in the morning is a food lovers delight. We are so thankful to have had such a great weekend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckybuck42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The Zoar School Inn Is great! The room was clean and comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was great. The complimentary goodies were a nice touch. We Stayed in Lea's suite. The Fireplace by the bed was very romantic. Breakfast was delicious too! And most importantly, our hosts, Gayle and Joe, were very warm and welcoming. We would certainly love to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baldyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoarschoolinn, Owner at Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write them! We look forward to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zoar
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 1 in Bolivar
60 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Schoenbrunn Inn & Conference Center
The Schoenbrunn Inn & Conference...
#4 of 6 in New Philadelphia
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Strasburg Dover
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Dover
Comfort Inn Dover
#2 of 3 in Dover
117 reviews
21.1 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#1 of 11 in Berlin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoar School Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 160 Third Street, Box 509, Zoar, OH 44697
Location: United States > Ohio > Zoar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Zoar
Price Range: $109 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zoar School Inn B&B Inn circa 1836. The first school of Zoar. Once a one floor 2 room schoolhouse that was changed into a family dwelling in 1868. Four romantic private bedrooms with bath en-suite have been decorated the ultimate in sheer pleasure and comfort. 3 Suites have fireplaces, double Jacuzzi tubs, king/queen beds. All rooms have refrigerators, independent heat and air controls, ceiling fans and more. 24 Hour coffee, tea, cocoa and small treat area conveniently located on the second floor. Soda and spring water supplied in each rooms refrigerator. A full 2 course gourmet breakfast served each morning. Evening snack and bed turn down. Innkeepers Joe and Gayle invite you to stay at our B&B where you're invited to step back in time to enjoy charm of the historic village of Zoar. Warm hospitality awaits you. Enjoy relaxing on our screened in back porch and enjoy rocking on our rockers, reading, morning breakfast or simply relaxing and enjoying the grounds. Call for your reservation today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zoar School Inn Bed And Breakfast Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing