We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel needs attention and new house keeping staff.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kautilya Zanesville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kautilya Zanesville Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Mappsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel needs attention and new house keeping staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's not staying at the ritz but it's not a complete dump either. The biggest asset here is the pool and spa. There is a game room there too with pool table, a few video games and air hockey game but it wasn't working. Our room appeared clean but it still had dirty towels from the night before. I spoke to house keeping to get clean towels, she really didn't seem care that she hadn't done a very good job. If it were up to me I would fire the cleaning staff and find someone who cares.They could start cleaning up the hotel by replacing their faded sign you see from interstate 70. The resturant and lounge is closed with no chance for opening anytime soon. The good is it's not crowded and they do have WIFI.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are adjacent to the pool, if you want quite ask for a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigmilese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    15
    14
    36
See reviews for
29
21
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Restaurant is closed for good, bar is closed for good, hot tub is drained, and hotel is in complete disrepair. Only cereal was left in the breakfast at 9:00. No one at the front desk would answer any calls, we tried 4 times. Bath tub had rust in it and toilet was clogged. I must say the hotel was filled because the power was out to half the town of Zanesville, which is why we were forced to stay there, but this place is really, really bad. I can't in my wildest dreams believe two previous reviewers gave this hotel 5 stars. Easily the worst hotel I have stayed in over the last 30 (yes 30!) years.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zanesville hotels

Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel the weekend of June 15th and was so pleased with the staff, rooms, and environment from last year. The rooms were very clean and quiet. I also enjoyed the pool table and large indoor swimming pool. The front desk clerk also provided me with information on attractions around Zanesville. I was very satisfied with my stay and will def stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms in front of pool. Did not visit restaurant and did not see a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Ramada several years ago, so when our trip this time took us through Zanesville, my husband booked us ( and paid) for a room on line. The hotel is in disrepair, the lawn has not been mowed, there are weeds growing around the building, the security locks to enter the building were non functional, the room was dirty...although we prepaid for the room, we moved down the road to Hampton Inn. We did not feel it was safe to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachin S, General Manager at Kautilya Zanesville Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
We're very sorry that you had such a terrible experience at your recent stay. We have just taken over from prior management and were still in the process of sorting out the card readers. Please stop back whenever you are passing by and ask for me (gm), so we can try to make up for your unpleasant experience. The issues you had have addressed from the checkin system to the landscaping. Once again i apologize for the disarray and hope you will stop back by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our family stayed here on the way back from Washington DC and had a great time. The oversize indoor pool along with the game areas kept our kids busy. This place is under new ownership and management. Everyone from the houskeepers to maintenenance to the front desk were very friendly and made our stay enjoyable. The rooms were big and clean. When we checked in the front clerk told us that if anything was wrong they would be happy to switch us to another room. There was no need as our room was fine. The breakfast was better than most places and the restaurant was scheduled to open in the future after renovations. I read the past reviews and all I can say is give the new management a chance. The price was good and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are great if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachin S, General Manager at Kautilya Zanesville Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
We're very pleased that your stay was fantastic and thank you for your positive review. As you mentioned in your review, we have just taken over and are working very hard to renovate and change this property. Please don't be afraid of the prior reviews as we have completed drastic changes to the hotel to ensure cleanliness and safety. Thank you again, and hope you come back and choose us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Only stay here if you want to freeze to death, sleep on stained sheets and cover with threadbare blankets and comforters with cigarette burns in them! (We stayed in a non-smoking room).

It took 30 minutes to check in, despite having made reservations (and paid already!) online prior.. The women up front were unprofessional, and unapologetic about it.

When we finally got the room keys, we took our 3 young children in and noticed that it was extremely cold inside. The thermostat was OFF! Had to almost break it to get it to turn on. We thought, well, we'll turn this on and go swim and maybe get in the jacuzzi to warm up. HA! What a joke. The entire swimming area was unheated. Colder than outside! The water was warm, but it didn't really matter when the air was freezing. Thought the jacuzzi would warm us up, however the water in the jacuzzi was only slightly warmer the pool water. Had interesting conversations with other people about how unnaturally cold it was inside.

(This was pretty much the whole reason we booked the room, to let the kids swim for a while since there is nothing to do outside, since it's so cold out. So needless to say, they were dissapointed and miserable.)

We raced back to our room, dripping wet and freezing. Still not warm in our room. Decided to take hot showers. Bathroom horrifying!! Looked like urine dribbles on the walls. Ceiling was dirty and ceiling tiles were off center and gaping. Very seedy. The whole room smelled like stale urine.

No microwave, even though its listed under the amenities. Had a refridgerator, although it did not work. Not even batteries in the remote! Picture on the tiny TV very fuzzy. Dirty floors. Dirty walls.

Let the kids play in the little game area for a while. Was cold. Put money in the air hockey table. It didn't work. A housekeeper came up and started talking to us. For a long time. Pretty much told us all she had done that day was pick up dirty towels, and then left them in a bag. Figured out what was probably the reason our room was so unkempt.

Hard to sleep. Everyone woke up coughing and with runny noses. No surprise, since we pretty much slept in 30 degree weather.

Overall a VERY MISERABLE experience.

We didn't attempt to go swimming again. Left as early as we could get everyone up and ready. What a great family outing, huh?

Then, the topping on the cake: We're back at our very comfortable, very nice, very warm home, unpacking our overnight bag. My daughter screams, jumps back, throws the shirt she had in her hand and yells "Mommy, a bug!!" Look down. Oh how nice. A lovely cockroach, burrowing into our carpet.

So, to sum it all up: We spent $70, for a room I wouldn't have even paid $10 for if I had seen it, and felt it, and smelled it beforehand. We got to swim in a pool when we could have had the same experience for free, swimming in the lake we have here at home. We got to watch a TV similar to the one my husband and I had in our tiny apartment after highschool. But at least then we had a remote control that worked. We got colds and coughs. And we also probably got cockroaches.

Pretty much the worst hotel experience ever.

So yeah, book elsewhere. There are like 3 other hotels right up the road. They probably have heat, at least.

Room Tip: A good room would be one that is not in the Ramada Inn. Or if you must sleep here, you may want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madi J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Terrible. Thats all I can say. Tiny 12 year old looking mother of 11 kids running the front desk was more worried about entertaining possible suitors for father of her flock than she was running the business. She even mentioned she was sorry and not supposed to be there but got stuck with her kids because she couldnt find a babysitter. So what does she do? Lets them ride their bicycles in the lobby. Great first impression.. Some big fat black guy sat in the area by the pool with gigantic weird eyes and a purple head and face looking as frightening as you can possibly imagine. Ok, just get to the room right? Oh what a fking nightmare. Hole in the door like someone punched it. And they spray painted over it with white paint (the door was like green). Idiots. Well, we get in the room, and as was previously mentioned in another review, the floors were disgusting. the curtains grimy. couldnt walk in bare feet. cigarette ashes everywhere, heater would not function. just looked outdated and generally was a nightmare. seedy lookin mofos stay here.

Well, i was ready to get out of there, room service, toothless-habib is what we'll call this non-english speaking moron decided that opening the door was ok and yelled "room service"... He didnt know we were still in there (i guess) and I almost lost control, but kept my cool. He apologized and quickly closed the door. A positive note is it gives you the opportunity to go to Dennys.

Room Tip: Be smart and book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zvillereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanesville hotels
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Zanesville
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
#8 of 13 in Zanesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN B. R. Guest
BEST WESTERN B. R. Guest
#3 of 13 in Zanesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 13 in Zanesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Zanesville
Hampton Inn Zanesville
#1 of 13 in Zanesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Zanesville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kautilya Zanesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kautilya Zanesville Hotel

Property: Kautilya Zanesville Hotel
Address: 4645 East Pike, I-70 at Exit 160, Zanesville, OH 43701 (Formerly Motel 6 Zanesville)
Location: United States > Ohio > Zanesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kautilya Zanesville Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Motel-6 so you can book your Kautilya Zanesville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Zanesville
Ramada Zanesville
Zanesville Ramada
Kautilya Zanesville Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing