We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should probably look elsewhere...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kautilya Zanesville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kautilya Zanesville Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Zanesville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Should probably look elsewhere...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Only stay here if you want to freeze to death, sleep on stained sheets and cover with threadbare blankets and comforters with cigarette burns in them! (We stayed in a non-smoking room).

It took 30 minutes to check in, despite having made reservations (and paid already!) online prior.. The women up front were unprofessional, and unapologetic about it.

When we finally got the room keys, we took our 3 young children in and noticed that it was extremely cold inside. The thermostat was OFF! Had to almost break it to get it to turn on. We thought, well, we'll turn this on and go swim and maybe get in the jacuzzi to warm up. HA! What a joke. The entire swimming area was unheated. Colder than outside! The water was warm, but it didn't really matter when the air was freezing. Thought the jacuzzi would warm us up, however the water in the jacuzzi was only slightly warmer the pool water. Had interesting conversations with other people about how unnaturally cold it was inside.

(This was pretty much the whole reason we booked the room, to let the kids swim for a while since there is nothing to do outside, since it's so cold out. So needless to say, they were dissapointed and miserable.)

We raced back to our room, dripping wet and freezing. Still not warm in our room. Decided to take hot showers. Bathroom horrifying!! Looked like urine dribbles on the walls. Ceiling was dirty and ceiling tiles were off center and gaping. Very seedy. The whole room smelled like stale urine.

No microwave, even though its listed under the amenities. Had a refridgerator, although it did not work. Not even batteries in the remote! Picture on the tiny TV very fuzzy. Dirty floors. Dirty walls.

Let the kids play in the little game area for a while. Was cold. Put money in the air hockey table. It didn't work. A housekeeper came up and started talking to us. For a long time. Pretty much told us all she had done that day was pick up dirty towels, and then left them in a bag. Figured out what was probably the reason our room was so unkempt.

Hard to sleep. Everyone woke up coughing and with runny noses. No surprise, since we pretty much slept in 30 degree weather.

Overall a VERY MISERABLE experience.

We didn't attempt to go swimming again. Left as early as we could get everyone up and ready. What a great family outing, huh?

Then, the topping on the cake: We're back at our very comfortable, very nice, very warm home, unpacking our overnight bag. My daughter screams, jumps back, throws the shirt she had in her hand and yells "Mommy, a bug!!" Look down. Oh how nice. A lovely cockroach, burrowing into our carpet.

So, to sum it all up: We spent $70, for a room I wouldn't have even paid $10 for if I had seen it, and felt it, and smelled it beforehand. We got to swim in a pool when we could have had the same experience for free, swimming in the lake we have here at home. We got to watch a TV similar to the one my husband and I had in our tiny apartment after highschool. But at least then we had a remote control that worked. We got colds and coughs. And we also probably got cockroaches.

Pretty much the worst hotel experience ever.

So yeah, book elsewhere. There are like 3 other hotels right up the road. They probably have heat, at least.

Room Tip: A good room would be one that is not in the Ramada Inn. Or if you must sleep here, you may want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madi J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    15
    14
    36
See reviews for
29
21
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Terrible. Thats all I can say. Tiny 12 year old looking mother of 11 kids running the front desk was more worried about entertaining possible suitors for father of her flock than she was running the business. She even mentioned she was sorry and not supposed to be there but got stuck with her kids because she couldnt find a babysitter. So what does she do? Lets them ride their bicycles in the lobby. Great first impression.. Some big fat black guy sat in the area by the pool with gigantic weird eyes and a purple head and face looking as frightening as you can possibly imagine. Ok, just get to the room right? Oh what a fking nightmare. Hole in the door like someone punched it. And they spray painted over it with white paint (the door was like green). Idiots. Well, we get in the room, and as was previously mentioned in another review, the floors were disgusting. the curtains grimy. couldnt walk in bare feet. cigarette ashes everywhere, heater would not function. just looked outdated and generally was a nightmare. seedy lookin mofos stay here.

Well, i was ready to get out of there, room service, toothless-habib is what we'll call this non-english speaking moron decided that opening the door was ok and yelled "room service"... He didnt know we were still in there (i guess) and I almost lost control, but kept my cool. He apologized and quickly closed the door. A positive note is it gives you the opportunity to go to Dennys.

Room Tip: Be smart and book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zvillereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zanesville hotels

Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Found using Hotels.com which charged us $75 for a $60 room. Clerk at front desk was entertaining "visitors" in the reception area and they seemed to have been partying. The security doors to the guest rooms were propped open when we got there and were never locked. Cigarette ashes on the nightstand (non smoking room.) Floors, bedspread, curtains were grimy and definitely not barefoot friendly.

Never, ever again Hotels.com. For the rest of the trip we used TripAdvisor and - while not all the hotels were great - at least we had an honest picture of what we were getting into!

Room Tip: Go to one of the hotels next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akHondaGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here while passing thru the area late one nite. A week-end festival left many other places nearer the highway full. We were thankful to find a clean, comfortable room. The hotel looks dated, but the accomodations (comfort of the bed, cleanliness, everything working) were better than the decor. Clean, comfortable, quiet, friendly service and several breakfast items were provided. If you are more concerned about the night's rest than prestige, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanda s, General Manager at Kautilya Zanesville Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you v. much for positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Where do I begin? Dirty floors. Broken box spring. Broken bathroom light. Cigar wrapper in a drawer. Cigarette burns and odor in a NON-SMOKING room. The air conditioning thermostat had been rigged with a Phillips head screw to prevent the temperature from being lowered to below 72 degrees (The room nevertheless remained at around 75). The ladders and railings in the pool and whirlpool areas were loose and rusty. In the pool, there was a film of mold above the waterline where graffiti had been etched into it, showing among other messages, "wash me". As for housekeeping, the room was never made up for the second night (we were in the room when the maid did come by but she never came back). In order to get clean towels, I had to visit the the front desk twice because the first time no one picked up the phone and the second time the manager forgot to bring them. We had to go back after an hour to remind them. And, as if that wasn't enough, there was a bare trickle of water (I'm not exaggerating here) for the morning shower. Needless to say, the toilet wouldn't flush. Presumably, with the hotel practically empty, I'm guessing we got one of the better rooms. Worst hotel experience EVER.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Six years ago, my husband and I had our wedding reception at this very hotel. We went back this week, for one night, and were so sad to see the state of this hotel. When we arrived we were quoted 55 dollars, and before we left the parking lot the next morning we spent 85 +. Wondering if we were given the run around. Even having to pay 10 dollars for a crib we had to wait an hour to get rolled over to our room. Baby was crying and ready for bed, and we had no where to put her. Our son was going to sleep on the pull out couch, no sheets or bedding in the room, waited...and waited...and were asked to come down to the lobby to pay for the crib- before they would bring us a bed and bedding. The property needs some updates. It's in need of TLC. Breakfast not worth mentioning...no fruit, no yogurt, no protein, no color. Can you say bland? Scared to give my kids the milk sitting out in a pitcher. As we left- we were so sad that the place where we made such great memories is now a place we likely won't go back to.

Room Tip: There is a wing of newer rooms which are where you want to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscase05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, In
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We arrived @ 1AM or would have turned around and ran back to the car. When we got inside other guests were laying on their beds with the door open to their room. And they were kinda shady looking people. When we opened the door to our room the odor hit you in the face. Smelled like cigerette smoke and other smells, though it was a smoke free room. The carpet was filthy. We decided to sleep in our clothes. The tub would not hold water but it would'nt have mattered because the water was lukewarm. On the way out we noticed that one of the rooms had the door missing and had a sheet of plywood nailed up to it. I had stayed here probably 13 yrs ago when it was a Holiday Inn and it was not in this shape but WOULD never ever stay here again. Connecting door unlocked.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vellisClinton_In
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanesville hotels
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Zanesville
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
#8 of 13 in Zanesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN B. R. Guest
BEST WESTERN B. R. Guest
#3 of 13 in Zanesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 13 in Zanesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Zanesville
Hampton Inn Zanesville
#1 of 13 in Zanesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Zanesville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kautilya Zanesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kautilya Zanesville Hotel

Property: Kautilya Zanesville Hotel
Address: 4645 East Pike, I-70 at Exit 160, Zanesville, OH 43701 (Formerly Motel 6 Zanesville)
Location: United States > Ohio > Zanesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kautilya Zanesville Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Motel-6 so you can book your Kautilya Zanesville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Zanesville
Ramada Zanesville
Zanesville Ramada
Kautilya Zanesville Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing