We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrified !!!!!! Shocked!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kautilya Zanesville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kautilya Zanesville Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Clinton, In
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrified !!!!!! Shocked!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We arrived @ 1AM or would have turned around and ran back to the car. When we got inside other guests were laying on their beds with the door open to their room. And they were kinda shady looking people. When we opened the door to our room the odor hit you in the face. Smelled like cigerette smoke and other smells, though it was a smoke free room. The carpet was filthy. We decided to sleep in our clothes. The tub would not hold water but it would'nt have mattered because the water was lukewarm. On the way out we noticed that one of the rooms had the door missing and had a sheet of plywood nailed up to it. I had stayed here probably 13 yrs ago when it was a Holiday Inn and it was not in this shape but WOULD never ever stay here again. Connecting door unlocked.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vellisClinton_In
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    15
    14
    36
See reviews for
29
21
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Was clean as possible for the worn out condition. Applears remodeling may be going on? Ladders, tarps, dumpsters and such but no activity: maybe because of being the weekend. Finish worn off arms of furniture. Drop ceiling in bathroom; weird comcept due to steam??? Needs new drapes and bedspreads; outdated and dark. Oval toilet with round toilet seat; little hard to stay off cold porceline bottom when sitting down??!! Paint peeling in hallways. Any request to front desk were taken care of immediately. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoftballSpectator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanda s, General Manager at Kautilya Zanesville Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thanks you v.much for good compliment. that's really help us. yes we trying to up date our hotel, may be your next stay find lots of changes.thanks again for positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This listing shows that there is a full service restaurant as well as a full service lounge & grille. NO WAY JOSE. They have both been closed for the past 2 years. Several air conditioners did not work. Have HAD TO COME to THIS particular hotel on business every summer. There have been improvements since 2010 but it is still lacking in many areas. Room service crew came by and held out hand asking for a tip. No only to me but to others too. Landscaping is non existent. The hotel is tired and needs MUCH renovation and repair. Elevator broke down. Can't believe that RAMADA claims it as one of theirs.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Maybe the Best Western down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorfromFlorida70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zanesville hotels

Daleville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

booked this hotel on hotels.com as a stop over on our way to see our grandaugther in new jersey. we paid 90 dollars a night for a room that other people were being quoted 55 dollars. since we paid extra we were given a suite. the carpet and furniture was so dirty that i was afraid to stand or sit anywhere. the bathtub drain was laying on the side of the tub. It was late and we were tired so we stayed,but never again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dissapointed058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We got 3 rooms in one day there. First room smelled so bad like dog and smoke and the heater had left a hole in the wall you could see outside and bug where coming in yuk. The second room smelled bad and tv did not work and the 3rd room was ok but when we got up there where ants all over the sink and table gross. I would not tell anyone to go there.

The breakfast was yuk and it said in ad on web they had place to eat there no there was not they could not get there permits for it. well then it should not be on the site.. It smelled so bad of smoke all over the place.

the pool was the only thing nice there . Kids loved it. I thought ramada's where nice hotels but i guess i was wrong.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannie10kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

another poor example of how ramada has went down hill. Didnt feel safe. roof leaks. they let people hang out in the hot tub drinking and smoking at 2am. breakfast was pathetic and no newspaper

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalonJunkie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

In February of 2011 I was moving and my new home wouldnt be ready for 3 weeks so we apt to stay at this local hotel close to the kids school, we wer treated with the upmost respect and kindness the older couple who cleans made my day every morning with their smiles and kindness, it was rough not having a home for a few weeks but they made us seem like we did I thank them all

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tammykmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanesville hotels
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Zanesville
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
#8 of 13 in Zanesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN B. R. Guest
BEST WESTERN B. R. Guest
#3 of 13 in Zanesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 13 in Zanesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Zanesville
Hampton Inn Zanesville
#1 of 13 in Zanesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Zanesville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kautilya Zanesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kautilya Zanesville Hotel

Property: Kautilya Zanesville Hotel
Address: 4645 East Pike, I-70 at Exit 160, Zanesville, OH 43701 (Formerly Motel 6 Zanesville)
Location: United States > Ohio > Zanesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kautilya Zanesville Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Kautilya Zanesville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Zanesville
Ramada Zanesville
Zanesville Ramada
Kautilya Zanesville Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing