We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good stay”
Review of Motel 6 Youngstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Youngstown
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Youngstown
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
267 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good stay”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Usually you can't expect too much at a Motel 6, but this one stands out with a pleasant front desk, newly decorated rooms, clean and comfortable at a good price. The rooms have an interesting, unique, modern decor. Wi-fi worked well in the lobby but not in the room.

There is a big TripAdvisor certificate of excellence in the lobby with 4 stars. They earned it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    77
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
62
39
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've been here for 2 months and I have 2 dogs.I left for a week due to a cheaper motel and ended up back here at Motel 6 that should say it all.this Motel 6 is very clean and the staff is amazing!!!! I finally found a house and will be departing out of here on Sunday and will miss the motel friendship.I would highly recommend this motel.thanks for the hospitality and the friendships I will continue.now remember me when you need a new Housekeeper!!!!! Thanks for your hospitality. Cricket miller

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crickmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

There was no issue at this motel and had an excellent stay for second straight time. This is a convenient motel off of I-80 and rt 11. It was a short stay but a good one and helped me get on with my work day! Thank you motel six.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weatherman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chenango Forks, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this hotel because we have had very good experiences in other Motel 6. Overall our room was clean and neat. Our room was a non smoking room, it did not appear to have been smoked in, no masking spray was used. The front desk gave us a choice of first floor or second floor. We have stayed in many places and no one has ever asked what floor. That for us was very thoughtful. We did need to change our room because of some noise, again the front desk was there to help. We had a new room in less than 5 minutes. We needed an internet connection for an online class, the connection was stable and very clear. When we travel we look for a clean room a hot shower and an affordable price. Staying in Youngstown Motel 6 hit the mark.
Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in this motel twice on our way to and then from the east coast. We booked the hotel despite seeing the reviews saying that the floors in the rooms were dirty. On our first night we carefully checked out the room for bugs and cleanliness. There were no bugs and all of the surfaces looked clean. The floor did not appear to be dirty. When we walked around in our stocking feet, the bottoms of our socks turned black. When I got into the shower, I left gritty black foot prints in the tub. The beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly. The furnishings are spartan, but extremely adequate for a person, on the road, staying here for only one night. The cost was $50/night.

The dirty floors bothered us, but we booked a room at this hotel for a night on our return trip. We had the same experience. Again, the floors were dirty. Given the dirty floors, we wondered if the bedding had been changed. It appeared as if they changed the sheets, but who knows. The door lock on this second room was hard to operate.

If it were not for the dirty floors, we would have rated this hotel as 5 stars. Spartan room, no breakfast etc., but a place to get a nights sleep when on the road for $50 a night.

We completed the motel6 customer satisfaction survey. All we got back was an automated email claiming that our input was important to them.

I doubt that we would rent a room in this hotel again unless the reviews improve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank free_agents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I would say the worst thing about this place was the cleanliness. all the pictures of bugs that are posted are absolutely true. the rooms look cool and they have a great price but who wants to sleep in a dirty room. outside of the room was dirty with ketchup packets splatters everywhere and the walkway with stairs next to my room smelled like cat pee. just because you don't have carpet doesn't mean that you never have to clean the floors, they were really gross. I travel to this area every week but I will never stay at this place again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ysaleh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6Youngstown, Manager at Motel 6 Youngstown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We hope you will accept our sincere apologies issues you indicated. Please know that this is not consistent with our standards for quality and that your feedback will be used to help us as we continually strive to improve our performance and service to our valued customers. We know you have many choices for lodging in Youngstown and hope you will stay with us again when you're in the area and allow us to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stopped for the night and found this to be a very pleasant place to spend a night on the road. I loved the layout of the room especially the little booth type sitting area. The bed was comfy and the room was spotless. Even though it was very basic...no hair dryer of shampoo etc. it was still very pleasant atmosphere. I grabbed dinner at the Chinese Restaurant at the end of the parking lot and ice cream from the other end. It was great being able to just walk a few feet to grab dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Youngstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites North
Quality Inn & Suites North
#21 of 35 in Youngstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Boardman
6.0 mi away
Meander Inn
Meander Inn
#20 of 35 in Youngstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Youngstown North
Hampton Inn Youngstown North
#6 of 35 in Youngstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Youngstown Austintown
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Youngstown North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Youngstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Youngstown

Property: Motel 6 Youngstown
Address: 4249 Belmont Ave, I-80 at Exit 229, Youngstown, OH 44505-1003
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Youngstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Youngstown 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 has announced that WE are among the network's TOP PERFORMERS for 2015 and have been further recognized as GENERAL MANAGER OF THE YEAR!! Recipients of these awards demonstrate dedication to the company's commitment to people, product, guest, cost, sales and partner excellence. We couldn't be more excited and honored to be recognized for our commitment to you!---------------------------------------------------------BRAND NEW AND COMPLETELY RENOVATED! We are Ohio's NEWEST MOTEL 6 - built to its Award Winning Design and Sustainability Standards. We are pleased to offer 82 BRAND NEW ROOMS with 1 king sized, or 2 XL double beds, contemporary and modern furnishings and all the conveniences that make us the perfect home-away-from-home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Youngstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Youngstown Hotel Youngstown
Motel 6 Youngstown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing