We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best places”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Youngstown
Reviewed September 23, 2010

wasn't so neat , no so cheap, small bathrooms. great parking!!!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank Jose2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed in this hotel while traveling with our 70-lb dog. This limits our choices a lot when on a road trip. So I'm grateful in general how pet-friendly Best Western hotels are but this one was pretty dumpy. I assume all pet rooms are in the same hallway, we saw a zillion dogs. Down the hall a pair of yappy dogs were left alone in the room and barked incessantly until 10:30 pm. Kept our kids awake thanks to paper thin walls.

Hallway just reeked of smoke, the rooms themselves smelled of cheap cleaner. Bed was comfy, pillows not too bad. Very little green space for walking a dog. Breakfast was low quality and the room it was served in was tiny and boiling hot. We planned to leave early the next morning anyway for a road trip and I just couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeisureTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I normally stay at the hampton next door but they were booked..thought Id try the BW...fairly average room ..nice and clean...great bed..really hot water...only complaint was walls were a little thin, could here a dog barking ? in next room...besides that everything was good...gentleman working the desk around 100 am when I checked in was very helpful and pleasant...price was around $90.00...I would prob stay her next time in area due to the hospitality of the people...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamster175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

My one night stay was on November 6, 2009. The rate was $60 plus tax. I stayed at this hotel because it was $30 per night cheaper than the Hampton Inn next door.

This hotel is on a downward slide. Maintenance is clearly not a priority. The security system for outside doors was not working. In the room, the wash basin didn't drain properly and the shower control was not working properly.

The front desk had a very casual attitude and was not well trained. After dinner when I returned to my room, I found the message light flashing on the telephone. There were no directions on the phone or elsewhere on how to retrieve telephone messages so I called the front desk. The clerk said they had an automated telephone message service but she didn't know the number to access the system. She suggested I try some numbers. I did but I couldn't access the system. I called the front desk again. She said she would have to call someone to find the message system access number. She called back about five minutes later with the number. In case you stay at the hotel, the number is 500.

When I went to the front dest to check out, the clerk was sitting in the lobby watching TV. She asked if I had received a bill under my door. I said I had but I wanted to check out and have a receipt with a zero balance. She said she didn't do that. All rooms are checked out at the same time and the credit cards are billed at that time. This was a first for me. I always get a statement with a zero balance on checking out.

The room was large with a king sized bed and a sofa bed. The free Wi-Fi worked well. The location is convenient and there are numerous restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reited_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

The rooms were good. Large and clean. Bathroom was tiny but shower had great water pressure. We had travelled all day so we decided to eat at the restaurant in the hotel. What a mistake. Food was edible not nothing to get excited about. Place was just about empty and the service was still slow.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
Thank LastMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMeanderInn, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all the feedback we get. I am so sorry that the experience at the restaurant was better. I just wanted to let you know that the restaurant as changed. It is now Saadey's Place. They are under different management.

Thank you again for your review!
Amanda Evans,
Sales Manger,
Best Western Meander Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Hotel is easy to find and has a starbucks across the street. The hotel also has in-room coffee and a continental breakfast. The hotel felt safe and was quiet. My only complaint about this room was the cleanliness of the towels and linens - the towels had stains and hair stuck to them, and the bedsheets also had hair stuck to them. They looked like they had been washed but that their washing machines did not have enough power to adequately clean everything.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mmnelson_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed here while enroute to our vacation. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was very clean, and we had it to ourselves for a while! The restaurant was outstanding! There were 3 adults and 2 kids, and all loved their food. Right off the interstate and easy to get to. Great value!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawk72rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Youngstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Youngstown West I-80
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Youngstown West
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Youngstown Austintown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Youngstown West/Austintown
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Austintown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Youngstown W - I-80 Niles Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 870 N. Canfield Niles Rd., Youngstown, OH 44515 (Formerly Meander Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Youngstown
Price Range: $60 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youngstown hotels are known for their hospitality, but the Quality Inn goes above and beyond to make sure every stay is memorable. Our hotel is pet friendly. Limited pet rooms available with a limit of 2 pets per room. Additional fees per pet per night. Close to area attractions, hotels in Youngstown are just a short drive from the best dining, sightseeing and shopping in the area. With a property that’s located just off the interstate and the best in customer service, our staff is committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. Brand recognition is why many guests choose this property, knowing that spacious, clean rooms and affordable rates are guaranteed. The Hollywood Gaming & Mahoning Valley Race Course is a brand new attraction offering VLT's, Horse Races, entertainment and some fantastic dining experiences. It’s a must for travelers looking to liven things up on their vacation. However, the Butler Art Museum remains a staple attraction with new exhibitions featured regularly. Need recommendations on the best dining hot spots? Friendly staff members at our Youngstown hotel are happy to give you a local’s perspective. Renowned for local fare mixed with innovative dishes, Youngstown is a hub of eclectic dining options. Business travelers with General Motors-Lordstown and the Covelli Center frequent our Youngstown hotel and often require extended stays. Rates for long-term guests are competitive, and there’s plenty of space for corporate travelers to call us their home away from home. Free Wi-Fi and business amenities mean it’s simple to take care of business while still making time for leisure activities. Book your stay at the Quality Inn for business or pleasure! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Meander Hotel Youngstown
Best Western Youngstown
Youngstown Best Western
Quality Inn Youngstown, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing