We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value”
Review of Meander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meander Inn
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Youngstown
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A great value”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel provided a comfy, clean room at a great price, especially compared to most of the numerous nearby hotels. The hotel was full with kids coming in for various sport competitions, but there was no bothersome noise coming from the rooms in my vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubagroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    59
    49
    25
    20
See reviews for
104
39
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What was great about here is they allow pets. There was also a couch in the room. The room was very clean and comfortable. I think I paid $80 a night, which is the same for the econo lodge across the street and it is much better than that place. It's convenient, right off the highway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

When travelling with my cat, I'm a bit less concerned with where I stay, but more concerned for her comfort and that she is welcome.

I was given a room near the side door which gave easy access. The staff who happened to encounter her on the way in/out were quite welcoming.

I will admit the room itself is nothing special, but it was large, clean and provided a good night's sleep. My cat really liked the large window sill where she could sit and watch the world outside.

There's a restaurant onsite where I stopped on their very nice patio and had a beer, only to discover after the fact that the best before date was four months previous.

Check in and out was easy and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eynon, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here in August of 2012. Worst experience in my life regarding customer service and cleanliness. The place wreaked of filth. I was given a first floor room when I booked on the internet. I notified the manager regarding my complaints, hotel owner, and Best Western Corp in Arizona separately by correspondence. it took me months to hear from Arizona...I never heard from the manager or owner. The resolution from Corporate was a $25.00 gift certificate for a future visit at any Best Western. While I probably should not judge all others by Meander, I will, I never stayed at a Best Western before this trip, and never will again. Not enough room here for all details but suffice it to say that it is healthier to stay away from this one. My white socks will never be the same color.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Youngstown hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I`ve stayed in many best westerns before, this location is not up to par.

Location: Near the interstate. Sketchy location, not a good place to go out after the sun goes down.

Lobby, dated and needs to be updated.

Rooms, motel quality. Rusty bathtub, dirty floor, didnt want to take my shoes off. Rooms smelled like smoke. Old tv and heating unit.

Parking Free

Continental breakfast is basic but that is expected.

Staff: Friendly and helpful

Overpriced for what we received.

Best Western needs to do an internal review on this location and either bring it up to par or shut it down. This is by no means close to the standard I would expect from Best Western.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoke_Eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had an exeptional visit. When my parking spot was next to a snow covered sidewalk Mark who works at the front desk volunteered to shovel it clean for me. In my room both the shower curtain and washclothe were artfully folded. The bartender/waitress in the restaurant gave me perfectly timed service. Seeing three departments excel suggests that management encourages the staff to provide good service. I will use again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Meander Inn many times as it is the halfway point of our journey back East from our home in the Midwest and have been very satisfied to the point that we have referred the Inn to our friends. The room has always been clean and the rates very reasonable. The main attraction has always been the restaurant located on the premises. This time however, the restaurant was roudy, very cold and our food not prepared to our liking. (we were served lobster that was not cooked properly). we waited over one hour for our meals after ordering and we were told that they were out of sour cream after our baked potatoes were served,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MARTIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Youngstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Youngstown Austintown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Youngstown West I-80
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Youngstown W - I-80 Niles Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Youngstown West
6.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites North
Quality Inn & Suites North
#21 of 36 in Youngstown
161 reviews
10.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Boardman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meander Inn

Property: Meander Inn
Address: 870 N Canfield Niles Rd, Youngstown, OH 44515-1105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Meander Inn)
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Youngstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youngstown hotels are known for their hospitality, but the Meander Inn goes above and beyond to make sure every stay is memorable. Close to area attractions, hotels in Youngstown are just a short drive from the best dining, sightseeing and shopping in the area. With a property that’s located just off the interstate and the best in customer service, our staff is committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. Brand recognition is why many guests choose this property, knowing that spacious, clean rooms and affordable rates are guaranteed. The Hollywood Gaming & Mahoning Valley Race Course is a brand new attraction offering VLT's, Horse Races, entertainment and some fantastic dining experiences. It’s a must for travelers looking to liven things up on their vacation. However, the Butler Art Museum remains a staple attraction with new exhibitions featured regularly. Need recommendations on the best dining hot spots? Friendly staff members at our Youngstown hotel are happy to give you a local’s perspective. Renowned for local fare mixed with innovative dishes, Youngstown is a hub of eclectic dining options. Business travelers with General Motors-Lordstown and the Covelli Center frequent our Youngstown hotel and often require extended stays. Rates for long-term guests are competitive, and there’s plenty of space for corporate travelers to call us their home away from home. Free Wi-Fi and business amenities mean it’s simple to take care of business while still making time for leisure activities. Book your stay at the Meander Inn for business or pleasure! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Meander Hotel Youngstown
Best Western Youngstown
Youngstown Best Western
Meander Inn Youngstown, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing