We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Meander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meander Inn
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Youngstown
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed in hotel in september ..very clean good rates.excellent in hotel restruant

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmax54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    59
    49
    25
    20
See reviews for
104
39
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Older property that has seen better days. Though clean, reeked of cigarettes from when smoking was probably allowed in every room. Staff personable, good breakfast for a BW. Can't beat its location if using it to break up an Interstate haul.

Room Tip: Reserve ahead as popular stopover for travelers, workers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

After driving a little longer than I should have we stopped at the meander inn around 1am am found a room, expensive, 100$, but it is the first stop off the turnpike. After getting in the room, I noticed a large clump of hair on the pilliow. I then pulled the sheets back only to find 5-6 more hairs of varying types, upon inspecting the second bed, even more. I phoned the desk to tell the methed out looking guy running the desk and he told me to come grab keys to another room and inspect it. Long story short, same thing, both beds, even worse. Im not being picky here there were at least a dozen long to short hair in each bed. I went back to the desk and he offered to personally take me to the next available room. When we got to the third room, bam same thing, numerous hairs in every bed. Aftter seeing this, he basically said take it or leave it and didnt seem to think it was a big deal. He told me to contact the manager in the morning and she could discount the room.At this time I was far too tired to keep driving and decided to just crash in our sleeping bags on top of the sheets. In the morning the manager said that the meth addict desk attendant from the night before said that I had 1 hair in my bed and that I should have left if I didnt like it, NO discount. As I left there were a few more people not happy with this unclean, unfriendly hole. Also its located a stones throw from a seedy strip joint. I contacted Best Western customer relations and basically got a half baked apology. No resolution. Basically, this place doesn't wash their sheets! Nasty nasty nasty.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeabeePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Youngstown hotels

Brownsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

A girlfriend and I booked this hotel room for one night, on our way back to NY from a pet rescue in the Chicago area. We were lucky enough to reserve the last pet-friendly room. I have stayed at Best Westerns before because they are pet friendly. Our room was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable, and the continental breakfast was great. Although there were lots of dogs there that evening, we never heard barking. There is an outdoor pool which we did not get to use, but it was very clean and it looked very inviting. There is also a basketball court, volleyball court, and a large area to walk your dog. The hotel staff were fantastic. I would definitely stay here again if I were ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I will stay at this hotel every time I come to Warren Ohio. The rooms are clean and nice. The carpet is new and there is a flat screen TV in the room. Beds are great.They have rooms that people can stay in with there animals and they are just as nice as the other rooms. The staff was very nice. We had a family get togther at the hotel and we ask for a room that we could all gather together to visit. They gave us a conference room at no charge. Great place. We stay 2 nights and both nights the hotel was full. Close to restuarants and interstate I-81. There was a fridge and a mirowave in our room

Room Tip: ground floor are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOODLOOKING63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We booked this hotel to be near a family reunion and the Warren Mall. The room was clean, the outside pool was nice and the staff person was friendly. I did see a basketball court and a large area to walk your pets. I am not a dog lover and didn't even think to check if they allowed pets. Woke up at 7 am to a yelping mutt in the hallway. Other than the wake up call, the hotel was nice. The other reviewes are correct... the breakfast has a lot of options to pick from.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madisonkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed here for an overnight stop on our move and it met our basic needs. It was a little older but the rooms were nice and breakfast was great. The main reason I'm rating is average is we were put in the room closest to the front desk and all morning we could hear the front desk staff chatting loudly, vacuums, etc. so ti didn't make for a quiet stay once 7:30 a.m. rolled around.

Room Tip: Don't have pets along
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel248957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Youngstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Youngstown Austintown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Youngstown West I-80
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Youngstown W - I-80 Niles Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Youngstown West
6.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites North
Quality Inn & Suites North
#21 of 36 in Youngstown
160 reviews
10.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Boardman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meander Inn

Property: Meander Inn
Address: 870 N Canfield Niles Rd, Youngstown, OH 44515-1105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Meander Inn)
Location: United States > Ohio > Youngstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Youngstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youngstown hotels are known for their hospitality, but the Meander Inn goes above and beyond to make sure every stay is memorable. Close to area attractions, hotels in Youngstown are just a short drive from the best dining, sightseeing and shopping in the area. With a property that’s located just off the interstate and the best in customer service, our staff is committed to making your stay as comfortable as possible. Brand recognition is why many guests choose this property, knowing that spacious, clean rooms and affordable rates are guaranteed. The Hollywood Gaming & Mahoning Valley Race Course is a brand new attraction offering VLT's, Horse Races, entertainment and some fantastic dining experiences. It’s a must for travelers looking to liven things up on their vacation. However, the Butler Art Museum remains a staple attraction with new exhibitions featured regularly. Need recommendations on the best dining hot spots? Friendly staff members at our Youngstown hotel are happy to give you a local’s perspective. Renowned for local fare mixed with innovative dishes, Youngstown is a hub of eclectic dining options. Business travelers with General Motors-Lordstown and the Covelli Center frequent our Youngstown hotel and often require extended stays. Rates for long-term guests are competitive, and there’s plenty of space for corporate travelers to call us their home away from home. Free Wi-Fi and business amenities mean it’s simple to take care of business while still making time for leisure activities. Book your stay at the Meander Inn for business or pleasure! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Meander Hotel Youngstown
Best Western Youngstown
Youngstown Best Western
Meander Inn Youngstown, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing